Mumbai lift their maiden Senior Women's T20 Trophy

Jemimah Rodrigues led Mumbai to their maiden Senior Women's T20 Trophy title when they beat Uttarakhand by six wickets in the final

Shajin Mohanan S
New Update

© Mumbai Cricket Association

Mumbai beat Uttarakhand six wickets at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur to lift their maiden Senior Women's T20 Trophy of India domestic cricket on Thursday (November 9). Jemimah Rodrigues-led side lost only one match during the competition as the lifted the coveted title for the firs time.

Mumbai won five out of six games in the Group C having lost only one game to the table toppers Baroda and qualified as the second team from the group. As a result of that, they had to face Andhra in the pre quarter-final. Rodrigues played a captain's knock to score an unbeaten century. Her 112 not out of 66 balls meant Mumbai thumped Andhra by 93 runs to make it the quarter-final.

In the quarter-final, Mumbai had to face Madhya Pradesh who had an unbeaten run into the knockouts and the bowlers led by off-spinner Janhvi Kate defended a moderate total and won the match by 13 runs to set up the semi-final clash against Bengal.

ALSO READ: WPL 2024 likely to played in Bangalore and Mumbai

In the semis, they were up against Bengal who beat the defending champions Railways in their quarter-final fixture. Pace Saima Thakor set up the game with a couple of wickets and in the chase, Rodrigues contiued her good form in the company of Fatima Jaffer to win the match by eight wickets.

Opting to bowl first in the final, Mumbai had early success with Thakor striking with the third ball of the innings. Although Punam Raut and Jasia Akhter added 34 runs for the second wicket, once leg-spinner Prakashika Naik removed Akhter in the night over, Uttarkhand struggled to put up a fight with the bat and could only score 84 for 8 from their stipulated 20 overs.

For Mumbai, Naik picked up three wickets giving away only 14 runs from her four overs.

That score was never going to challenge the Mumbai batters and despite some hiccups, Rodrigues made sure that she batted through the innings to take her side home and to a famous title.

Rodrigues remained unbeaten on 30 off 30 balls to take her tournament run tally to 473 runs form nine innings. She was the only batter to score more than 400 runs during the competition. For her efforts, she was named the player of the series. The 23-year-old batter scored those runs at an admirable strike rate of 134.75 with one century and three fifties to her name.

For Ekta Bisht's side, leg-spinner Prema Rawat was the best bowler on show as she finished her impressive tournament with a two-wicket haul.

Brief Scores: Uttarakhand 84/8 in 20 overs (Punam Raut 24; Prakashika Naik 3/14, Manali Dakshini 2/8) lost to Mumbai 87/4 in 15.2 overs (Jemimah Rodrigues 30*, Humairaa Kaazi 23; Prema Rawat 2/17) by 6 wickets. POTM: Prakashika Naika POTS: Jemimah Rodrigues