WPL 2024 likely to played in Bangalore and Mumbai

Bangalore and Mumbai are likely to host the Women's Premier League (WPL) 2024 from February next year

Shajin Mohanan S
08 Nov 2023
New Update

Mumbai Indians with WPL 2023 trophy © Getty Images

The second edition of the Women's Premier League (WPL) is likely to be played entirely in Bangalore and Mumbai from February 2024 with the five franchises competing in the event.

Although there hasn't been any official announcement, Women's CricZone understands that the tournament will be played in these two cities. The second edition of WPL is likely to be played from the month of February.

The format will be the same as the inaugural edition with the five teams taking on each other in a double round-robin format and then top three teams will progress to the knockouts. The table topper will go straight to the final and the other two teams will clash in the Eliminator. 

The competition will be conducted in caravan style with all the teams completing their set of fixtures in one city before moving to the other although the fixtures haven't been finalised yet.

ALSO READ: WPL 2024 Player Retention List

Earlier, it was reported that the WPL 2024 will follow a home and away format that's in place in the Indian Premier League (IPL). But it seems likely the tournament will be restricted to these two cities. Before the tournament, India are set to host England and Australia in Mumbai for four and seven matches respectively from late November to January.

On October 19, BCCI released a list of players with the five WPL teams retaining 60 players and releasing 29 of them. It has been reported that there will be an auction in December where the teams will be allowed to add players to their roster.

In February 2023, the WPL finally came to fruition after a long wait and five franchises - Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Delhi Capitals, UP Warriorz, Gujarat Giants - winning the bids to own the teams.

The matches in the inaugural edition were played at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai and DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. Harmanpreet Kaur led Mumbai Indians beat Meg Lanning's Delhi Capitals in the final at Brabourne to lift the trophy.