Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Nikki Prasad, Divya Gnanananda shine on day one of Falcon Sports Club Golden Jubilee T20 Tournament

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Nikki Prasad, Divya Gnanananda shine on day one of Falcon Sports Club Golden Jubilee T20 Tournament

Nikki Prasad in action on day one of the Falcon Sports Club Golden Jubilee T20 tournament © Women's CricZone/Gomesh S

Ameya beat Herons in a thriller in the opening the Falcon Sports Club Golden Jubilee T20 Tournament at the Samprasiddhi Sports Estadio in Bangalore on Monday (January 4).

Put into bat, Herons skipper Divya Gnanananda got out of the blocks quickly smashing two boundaries in the first over. Anuja Patil removed Shubha Satish in the third over with Veda Krishnamurthy taking a smart catch at mid-wicket. Gnanananda added three more boundaries to her name in the last over the power play to take the score to 45 for 1.

Even though Minnu Mani struggled earlier in the innings at the other end, the pair scored 95 runs in the second wicket to take 120 in the 17th over. During the partnership, Gnanananda brought up her fifty from 35 balls with a six off Sahana Pawar. She took the Herons score to 144 for 2 in their 20 overs as she finished on 87 not out from 55 balls.

For Ameya, Anuja and Akansha Kohli were the ticket takers with one wicket each.

In reply, Ameya got off to a terrible start losing two early wickets with just nine runs on the board with the Herons opening bowler Monica Patel striking twice.

ALSO READ: Northern Spirit triumph over Central Hinds in a rain-hit clash

However, Ameya skipper Veda Krishnamurthy attacked left-arm spinner Anagha Murali taking 19 runs from the fourth over. Nikki Prasad also smashed a few boundaries- including a back-to-back four and six off Akshaya A. Krishnamurthy and Nikki Prasad added 85 runs for the third wicket from 63 deliveries.

Despite losing Krishnamurthy in the 13th over bowled by Akshaya, Prasad kept going and brought up her fifty from 39 balls to reduce the target to 36 runs from the last five overs.

However, with Prasad’s dismissal and Mona Meshram’s run out Ameya made things a bit difficult for themselves and eventually needed six runs to win from the last six balls. Anuja hit Kohli for a boundary in the fourth ball of the last over to take them home.

Patel was the most successful bowler for the Herons side taking two wickets for 12 runs from her three overs.

In the second match, Jemimah Rodrigues fifty and a combined bowling performance helped Sheen to a -run win over KINI RR.

ALSO READ: The year that wasn’t 

Opting to field, KINI RR got an early breakthrough when Arundhati Reddy removed Sheen opener Vrinda Dinesh just for five. Rodrigues and skipper Rakshitha Krishnappa took the score to 52 with the India international doing the bulk of scoring.

Deepti Sharma joined Rodrigues and started the innings with three fours off Chandu. V Om. Rodrigues went past her fifty with a six and a four off Shishira Gowda in the 15th over. Even though Prathyusha C managed to send Rodrigues back in the next over, a few powerful blows from Sharma took the Sheen score to 135 for 4 from the stipulated 20 overs.

Defending 135, Niranjana Nagarajan got the Sheen off to a perfect start removing Vanitha VR for a duck and Shishira for a solitary run to reduce KINI RR to 3 for 2. KINI RR never recovered from that start and kept losing wickets at regular intervals to reduce themselves to 47 for 5 in 10.5 overs with Simren Henry also accounting two wickets.

From there, even though Nuzhat Parween and Reddy added 33, it was too little, too late for the KINI RR side. They eventually finished at 113/9 from their 20 overs, Parween was the top-scorer with Sowmya Gowda scoring an unbeaten 20 off 9 balls.

For Sheen, Henry finished with figures of 2 for 22, Nagarajan while took two wickets for nine.

Brief Scores:

Herons 144/2 in 20 overs (Divya Gnanananda 87*, Minnu Mani 35) lost to Ameya 146/6 in 19.4 overs (Nikki Prasad 61, Veda Krishnamurthy 39; Monica Patel 2/12) by four wickets. POTM: Divya Gnanananda

Sheen 135/4 in 20 overs (Jemimah Rodrigues 53, Deepti Sharma 45; Arundhati Reddy 2/27) beat KINI RR  113/9 in 20 overs (Nuzhat Parween 31; Niranjana Nagarajan 2/22, Simren Henry 2/9) by 22 runs. POTM: Deepti Sharma