Sophie Ecclestone returns as England name squads for India tour

Sophie Ecclestone is back bowling and England are tracking her progress as she is named in the T20I and Test squads for India tour

New Update
Sophie Ecclestone

Sophie Ecclestone during Ashes Test © Getty Images

England have named their squads for the tour of India that's scheduled to be played in December. Sophie Ecclestone returns from injury to both the T20I and Test sides having missed out on the Sri Lanka series after undergoing a shoulder surgery in September. England will play three T20Is and one-off Test in Mumbai starting from December 6.

Apart from the inclusion of Ecclestone, both the squads will also see the return of Nat Sciver-Brunt and Sophia Dunkley having given a rest during the Sri Lanka series. Lauren Bell, who missed the Sri Lanka series owing to illness, is also back in the T20I squad. From the Ashes Test side that faced Australia at home, pacer Issy Wong and allrounder Danielle Gibson miss out and Bess Heath has been added to the 14-member squad.

On the T20I front, young Mahika Gaur has kept her place in the 15-member side having impressed everyone on her England debut in the Sri Lanka series. Kate Cross and Lauren Filer will be part of the Test side only and Alice Capsey is the other uncapped Test player alongside Heath in the Test squad. 

“We have a nice blend of youth and experience. It’s an exciting squad and a group that is ready to take on the challenge of what will be a really tough series in India," Jon Lewis, head coach, said.

“We haven’t toured India for a number of years. We have players who have experienced playing in the Women’s Premier League but many haven’t played international cricket there before. Playing in Indian conditions is great preparation for our next two World Cups in the subcontinent and will be an amazing learning opportunity for both the players and the staff.

ALSO READ: WPL 2024 likely to played in Bangalore and Mumbai

England last toured India in 2019 where they lost the ODI series 2-1 before whitewashing the hosts in the T20I series. This time there won't be any ODIs as India prepare to host their first home Test since 2014. The Test match will be played at the DY Patil Stadium in Navim Mumbai from December 14 to 17.

“We respect the Indian team and are really looking forward to the challenge," Lewis added. In a media interaction before the squad was announced, the England head coach also said that they are monitoring Ecclestone's progress and has been increasing her workload gradually. They are hopeful of the left-arm spinner being match fit by the time tour arrives.

England A will also travel to India for a three match T20 series against India A starting from November 29. The ECB has also named a 21-member 'A' squad to prepare in Oman from November 12 to 15 ahead of the tour. Left-arm pacer Tash Farrant has recovered from the surgery she had for stress facture on lumbar spine and has been nemd in the 'A' training side alongside Filer, Gaur and Wong. Grace Scrivens, who captained England at the inaugural Under-19 World Cup in South Africa early this year, Alice Davidson-Richards are some of the prominent members of the 'A' camp that includes players like Filer, Gaur, Emma Lamb, Freya Kemp from the main squad.

Heather Knight and Co will also have a camp in Oman from November 17 to December 2 before they fly to India. A 14-member squad will selected for the 'A' series from the 21 players and the rest of the team will remain with the main squad to train with them.


England T20I squad: Heather Knight (c), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Mahika Gaur, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Bess Heath, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt

England Test squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Lauren Filer, Bess Heath, Amy Jones, Emma Lamb, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt

England A Training squad: Hollie Armitage, Hannah Baker, Alice Davidson-Richards, Georgia Davis, Charlie Dean, Tash Farrant, Lauren Filer, Mahika Gaur, Kirstie Gordon, Liberty Heap, Freya Kemp, Emma Lamb, Ryana MacDonald-Gay, Kalea Moore, Sophie Munro, Grace Potts, Grace Scrivens, Seren Smale , Rhianna Southby, Mady Villiers, Issy Wong