Dane van Niekerk to miss training camp that starts from Aug 26

Dane van Niekerk to miss training camp that starts from Aug 26

Dane van Niekerk during T20 World Cup 2020. © Getty Images

Dane van Niekerk, South Africa’s captain, is set to miss the week-long training camp in Pretoria, that starts from Wednesday (August 26). 24 players will gather at Groenkloof Cricket Oval and Centre of the Excellence for the camp that is set to run till August 31.

Van Niekerk has suffered a muscle strain and will continue her rehabilitation in Port Elizabeth, according to a statement by Cricket South Africa. All players and the support staff underwent a COVID test and the reports were negative.

“The skills-based camp forms part of the women’s revised training schedule, which will include a training camp once a month,” read the statement.

“Last week, CSA confirmed that the Proteas would not travel to England for a proposed series due to travel regulations. National teams are restricted from travelling but individual players competing in events deemed as work are permitted to travel subject to them being COVID-19 compliant in the country they are travelling to and upon their return to South Africa.”


This announcement effectively means that players, who have been signed up by the teams in the Women’s Big Bash League, that is set to get underway from October 17, will be permitted to travel for the same. Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt and van Niekerk have been lapped up by various teams of the Australian domestic competition.

South Africa had their first training camp post the pandemic in late July, with which head coach Hilton Moreeng seemed satisfied. Ahead of that camp, three members tested positive for COVID-19.

Training squad: Lizelle Lee, Marizanne Kapp, Mignon du Preez, Suné Luus, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Laura Wolvaardt, Tumi Sekhukune, Nadine de Klerk, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Faye Tunnicliffe, Zintle Mali, Nondumiso Shangase, Zintle Mali, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Lara Goodall, Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Robyn Searle, Andrie Steyn

Read The Next Article