29-member Bangladesh squad to start training from January 3 next year

Clinical Bangladesh beat Ireland in thriller to book their place in the final

Bangladesh celebrating a wicket. © Getty Images

Bangladesh players will resume their training with a training camp starting from January 3 next year. The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 29-member squad for the month-long camp that will be held at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

The 29-member squad will undergo fitness and skills training during the camp and the players will also take part in five limited-overs practice matches. Fosil Hussain, assistant coach of the national side, will be in charge of the camp.

The training squad includes captain Salma Khatun and pacer Jahanara Alam, who were seen in action in November during the Women’s T20 Challenge in UAE, along with batters Rumana Ahmed, Sanjida Islam, wicket-keeper Nigar Sultana Joty.

ALSO READ: Australian star Ellyse Perry clean sweeps at ICC Awards

Bangladesh last played competitive cricket when they played in the T20 World Cup in Australia in March. They lost all four of their group-stage matches. They are slated to take part in the Women’s World Cup Qualifiers 2021 in Sri Lanka from June 26 to July 10. The competition was supposed to happen this year but got postponed due to the pandemic.

“I heard that a camp will begin for the women’s cricketers in January. We were out of action for a long time. Though not sure, I heard that next year we will play some series both at home and abroad,” Ahmed was quoted as saying to New Age last week.

Bangladesh senior side has been without a coach since the departure of Anju Jain in June. It has been reported that former England women’s coach Mark Robinson is likely to take charge of the side from January 2021.

Training Squad: Salma Khatun, Nigar Sultana Joty, Murshida Khatun, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondol, Panna Ghosh, Sanjida Islam, Ayasha Rahman, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Jahanara Alam, Nahida Akter, Ritu Moni, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Fahima Khatun, Shamima Sultana, Sobhana Mostary, Rabeya, Puja Chakrabortty, Mumta Hena Hasnat, Suraya Azmim, Nuhat Tasnia, Sharmin Akter Supta, Sarmin Sultana, Ishma Tanjim, Rubya Haider Jhilik, Aka Mollik, Fariha Islam Trisna, Shanjida Akther Maghla, Sumaiya Akter.