Australian star Ellyse Perry sweeps ICC Awards

New Update
Australian star Ellyse Perry sweeps ICC Awards

© Getty Images

Star Australian allrounder Ellyse Perry bagged all three -- ODI, T20I and Player of the Decade - honours at the International Cricket Council (ICC) awards that were announced on Monday (December 28). 

Perry, who amassed 4349 runs and 213 wickets in international cricket during the period that is considered for the awards, won the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for the ICC Player of the Decade, Women's ODI Cricketer of the Decade and the Women's T20I Cricketer of the Decade awards. 

Speaking about the awards, Perry said that she is honoured to have won them. "It has been an amazing opportunity to play against and with so many of the best players. Thinking back to when I started it's been an amazing experience, and I am privileged to play for my country and to do something that I absolutely love," she said in a video shared by the ICC.


Thanking her family, Perry said that her parents and brother have been amazingly supportive long before she made her debut for Australia. "It's been a very special ten years for women's cricket and the development in all formats of the game across every part of the world," Perry added. 

The 30-year-old had scored 2621 runs and taken 98 wickets in the 50-over format. In T20Is, Perry is the leading wicket-taker with 89 wickets in 100 matches, and sixth in the run-scorers list.  On the T20I award, she said, "I am not sure that I am the most dynamic T20 player. I think there are plenty more out there doing some amazing things and entertaining us all so much."

The allrounder said that it was amazing to see how the shortest format has served as a tremendous vehicle to develop the women's game and take it forward, adding, "A competition like Women's Big Bash League in Australia has had such an impact not only on the professional game but also on the number of young girls who want to take up the sport."

The ICC  Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Decade was awarded to Scotland captain Kathryn Bryce. She has 400 runs at an average of 50 and taken 15 wickets with an economy of 3.27 runs per over.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Decade: Alyssa Healy, Suzie Bates, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning (C), Stafanie Taylor, Sarah Taylor, Ellyse Perry, Dane van Niekerk, Marizanne Kapp, Jhulan Goswami, Anisa Mohammed.

ICC Women's T20I Team of the Decade: Alyssa Healy, Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Meg Lanning (C), Harmanpreet Kaur, Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin, Ellyse Perry, Anya Shrubsole, Megan Schutt, Poonam Yadav.