Stafanie Taylor, Reniece Boyce to lead strong WI, WI-A units against PAK, PAK-A

Stafanie Taylor, Reniece Boyce to lead strong WI, WI-A units against PAK, PAK-A

Stafanie Taylor (l) will lead West Indies, Reniece Boyce will captain the 'A' side. © ICC/Cricket West Indies/Women's CricZone

A 13-member West Indies squad and a 15-member ‘A’ squad with Stafanie Taylor and Reniece Boyce as captains respectively was announced by Cricket West Indies (CWI) on Friday (June 25). While the national side will play three T20Is and five ODIs against Pakistan, the ‘A’ teams will compete in three T20s and three one-dayers. All 28 members will be eligible for selection for both the series.

“This series against Pakistan has come at an opportune time because the West Indies players have not been able to face international opponents since September 2020,” said Ann Browne-John, lead selector for women’s cricket.

“It’s exciting that not only will the senior team be in action, but for the very first time a West Indies ‘A’ team will have the opportunity to compete against international opposition.”

Shawnisha Hector, who was included in the list of contracted players for 2021-22, and Shemaine Campbelle, both of whom were among the 30 players that were part of the training camp in May, missed out on both the squads.

Both Kaysia Schultz, who earned her maiden call-up to the national side for the tour of England last year, and Qiana Joseph, the left-arm seamer, had received their maiden central contracts for the season ahead and are part of the ‘A’ squad.

ALSO READ: Javeria Khan to lead Pakistan in WI; Rameen Shamim, Sidra Nawaz appointed as captains for A-team

Lee-Ann Kirby, hard-hitter Natasha McLean and leg-spinner Afy Fletcher missed out, while Kycia and Kyshona Knight have returned. Anisa Mohammed, who opted out of the England tour, has returned and named the vice-captain.

“As we prepare for the upcoming five-match ODI match series, these three T20Is will enable the senior team to ease themselves back into the international arena,” said Browne-John. “The ‘A’ team matches are an excellent chance for some of the younger players who have not been able to find a place in the senior team to show their skills.”

The first match of the T20I series will be played on Wednesday (June 30).


West Indies: Stafanie Taylor (c), Anisa Mohammed (vc), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Chinelle Henry, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman

West Indies A: Reniece Boyce (c), Shabika Gajnabi, Shanika Bruce, Cherry Ann Fraser, Jannillea Glasgow, Sheneta Grimmond, Caneisha Isaac, Zaida James, Japhina Joseph, Qiana Joseph, Mandy Mangru, Kaysia Schultz, Steffie Soogrim, Rachel Vincent, Rashada Williams

Read The Next Article