Laura Delany to lead Ireland in ICC World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe

Laura Delany to lead Ireland in ICC World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe

Laura Delany © Cricket Ireland

Cricket Ireland have announced that Laura Delany will lead the 15-member squad in the ICC ODI World Cup Qualifiers that is scheduled to happen in Zimbabwe later this month.

Delany was the ICC Player of the month in October for her performance in Zimbabwe. Eimear Richardson, who was the player of the tournament in the ICC T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier, returns to the squad for the global event.

Head Coach Ed Joyce said that the return of Eimear Richardson to the set-up was great for them going into the tournament. "Eimear is not only a talented all-rounder on the field but is a role model with over 15 years international experience to call upon. You can’t put a price on experience, and she is always an asset to the squad both on and off the field, and we thank Northern Districts for releasing her to play in the Qualifier.”

“We saw in Zimbabwe last month the confidence that our batting and bowling units gained from spending time training and playing in Zimbabwean conditions – especially how to adapt to altitude and dealing with the challenges of touring life. The facilities were first-rate, and that tour, I believe, saw a number of our players prove to themselves that they belonged in international cricket."


Ireland will play warm-up matches against Thailand and Pakistan in Zimbabwe before starting their qualifier campaign on the 16th and 19th of November 2021.

Carrie Archer, Chair of National Women’s selectors, said that the priority was to provide Ed and Laura with a group of players who offered experience playing in major tournaments. "We are acutely aware that despite being a talented squad of players, five of those selected only made their ODI debuts on last month’s tour."

"The value of the senior players in the squad will be more than just in playing talent, but in their off-field support and guidance, sharing their knowledge and experience of tournament cricket. Tournaments see matches come thick and fast, and this brings its own challenges at this level. The ability to impart knowledge to the newer members of the squad is also an important consideration for our selection discussions."

Ireland Squad: Laura Delany (captain), Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron. Travelling reserve: Sarah Forbes. Non-travelling reserves: Alana Dalzell and Kate McEvoy

Read The Next Article