Javeria Khan to lead Pakistan in WI tour; Rameen Shamim, Sidra Nawaz appointed as captains for A-team

New Update
Javeria Khan to lead Pakistan in WI tour; Rameen Shamim, Sidra Nawaz appointed as captains for A-team

Pakistan team in a huddle ahead of a match. © Getty Images

Pakistan Cricket Board has announced a 26-member squad for the West Indies tour later this month. While Javeria Khan will be leading the national side in both formats, Rameen Shamim and Sidra Nawaz will be captaining the A-Team in one-dayers and T20s, respectively. 

West Indies are hosting Pakistan for an eight-match multi-format white-ball leg and their first A-team series, where the teams will be playing three one-dayers and three T20s. The 26 players selected for the tour will be available for selection for all 14 matches. The tourists are to leave for the Caribbean on Wednesday (June 23), and they will be undergoing a four-day quarantine before beginning practice in Antigua. 

Speaking about the tour, Pakistan Chief Selector Urooj Mumtaz said that the West Indies tour is a phenomenal opportunity for their cricketers to showcase their performances and further cement places for the 2021-22 season. “These 26 players have been involved in all our high-performance camps over the past nine months. They have put in the hard yards under the national coaching staff led by David Hemp. The group has prepared with high intensity and purpose. They remain focused and determined to put up winning performances."

She said that the A-team matches are a great incentive and motivation for the players at the periphery to stake a claim in the national side, adding, "exceptional performances will be rewarded by players getting bumped up to the national side. Those who are unable to perform at the top can continue to get competitive matches in the A-side."

“Our last bilateral series with the West Indies produced competitive cricket. We recorded a historic 2-1 ODI series win with an extraordinary fight to come back from behind. I am hopeful that there will be quality cricket on display as we aim to improve our world standing further and continue to push to become top contenders on the world stage,” she concluded.

Pakistan squad for the tour: Javeria Khan (C-PAK), Rameen Shamim (One-Day captain, PAK-A), Sidra Nawaz (T20 captain, PAK-A), Aliya Riaz, Aiman Anwar, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Iram Javed, Jaweria Rauf, Kainat Imtiaz, Kaynat Hafeez, Maham Tariq, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui (wk), Nahida Khan, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Saba Nazir, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, and Syeda Aroob Shah