Zimbabwe announce 15-member squad for Pakistan series

New Update
Zimbabwe are the Champions of the Africa Region

Zimbabwe are the champions of the Africa region. ©Zimbabwe Cricket

Zimbabwe Cricket has announced the 15-member squad for the series against Pakistan that is scheduled to begin on February 9, 2020. Mary-Anne Musonda will be leading the side in the three one-dayers and three T20Is against Pakistan. All five matches will be played in the Harare Sports Club.

This series will mark the return of Zimbabwe to international cricket for the first time since May 2019. Earlier, Zimbabwe coach Adam Chifo had said that the series would provide them much-needed game time at the international level that they have not had in a while.

Zimbabwe Cricket had organised a domestic T20 competition for the players in October 2020. Apart from that tournament, the players have not had much of match practice over the last year.

ALSO READ: World Cup qualification, ODI status are only in mind, says Zimbabwe coach Adam Chifo  

Modester Mupachikwa was the leading runscorer in the tournament with 241 runs in seven matches followed by their skipper Musonda and Tasmeen Granger. With the ball, Precious Marange led the leaderboard with nine wickets. Granger was not too far behind with seven scalps along with Nomvelo Sibanda and Francesca Chipare.

Pelajia Mujaji, who last represented Zimbabwe in 2017, is back in the squad. Similarly, Christabel Chatonzwa and Esther Mbofana, who were not a part of the 2019 T20 World Cup regional qualifiers squad, has been called back into the side. 

Pakistan, on the other hand, have already reached Zimbabwe after losing both the ODI and T20I series in South Africa. This will be a litmus test for both skipper Javeria Khan and coach David Hemp.

The series starts with the three one-dayers that will be played on February 9, 12 and 14, followed by the T20I series that ends on 20th of this month.   

Zimbabwe squad: Mary-Anne Musonda (c), Ashley Ndiraya, Precious Marange, Pelajia Mujaji, Chiedza Dhururu, Modester Mupachikwa, Kellies Ndlovu, Tasmeen Granger, Esther Mbofana, Francesca Chipare, Loryn Phiri, Nomvelo Sibanda, Josephine Nkomo, Audrey Mazvishaya, Christabel Chatonzwa