Supernovas won the first ever Women's IPL game. ©BCCI
The BCCI is set to organise a three-team women’s tournament during the Indian Premier League playoffs on the similar lines of the domestic Challenger Trophy with the addition of the foreign players.

As per reports in Cricbuzz, the games will be played at the same venues as those of the playoffs in order to avoid logistical hassles and get the nod of the broadcasters. That means, the women’s games will be played at 4 PM with the men’s matches taking place at 8 PM with Chennai, Hyderabad and Vishakhapatnam being considered as the venues. The top two teams will meet in the finals on May 12 before the IPL finals at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai.

In a slight rise from last year, this year the three teams will have squads of 14 players each with 42 players participating in the matches. Apart from some of the top players from Australia, England and New Zealand who played last year, this year will see an addition of players from Windies and Sri Lanka. South African players would not be able to participate in the tournament as they will be facing Pakistan in a ICC Women’s ODI Championship series starting May 6.

The BCCI is taking smaller steps to create a full-fledged league similar to the WBBL in Australia and the Kia Super League in England with an increase in teams this year compared to last year.

Unlike last year with a 2 PM start, the BCCI is planning at a 4 PM start which might attract more audience for the women’s games.

Leave a Reply