Women's T20 Challenge to be held in Pune from May 23 to 28

New Update
I knew with 115-120 we still had a very good chance: Smriti Mandhana

Smriti Mandhana in action in the Women's T20 Challenge. © BCCI/ IPL

The 2022 edition of the Women's T20 Challenge will be played in Pune from May 23 to May 28. The tournament will likely feature three teams: Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity, with each of them facing the other two teams once. The top two teams will then advance to the final, which will be played on 28 May.

The last edition of the tournament was played in the UAE in 2020 alongside the knockout phase of that year's Indian Premier League (IPL). Smriti Mandhana had led the Trailblazers to the title at the Sharjah Cricket Ground in Sharjah after defeating Harmanpreet Kaur's Supernovas in the final by 16 runs.

Mandhana was the top-scorer in the match with 68 runs, while Radha Yadav's five-wicket haul in the final for Supernovas went in vain. Velocity were captained by Mithali Raj in the previous edition. Radha was also named the Player of the Series for picking up the most wickets (8) in the tournament.

This will be the fourth edition of the tournament, which was first played as a one-off match between Trailblazers and Supernovas in 2018 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Supernovas had emerged victorious in that match by three wickets.

The second and third editions of the Women's T20 Challenge were held in 2019 and 2020 in a three-team and four-match format. The second edition was also won by the Supernovas, with Harmanpreet being Player of the Final and Jemimah Rodrigues being the Player of the Tournament.