Women’s T20 Challenge: Deandra Dottin, Sophie Ecclestone, Sune Luus headline overseas stars

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Sophie Ecclestone's mantra - Keep it simple, silly!

Sophie Ecclestone celebrates a wicket for Trailblazers against Velocity in Women's T20 Challenge. © BCCI/IPL

England's Sophie Ecclestone and Kate Cross and West Indies' Deandra Dottin and Hayley Matthews are among the 12 overseas players who will be in action at the 2022 Women's T20 Challenge.

Legspinner Alana King will be the lone Australian representative at the tournament. The other overseas players for this edition are Bangladesh's Salma Khatun and Sharmin Akhter, South Africa's Laura Wolvaardt, Sune Luus and Ayabonga Khaka, England's Sophia Dunkley and Thailand's Natthakan Chantham.

The latest edition of the tournament will be played from 23 to 28 May in Pune, with three teams and four matches overall.

Other than King, Cross, Khatun and Akhter, all the other players were in action at the FairBreak T20 Invitational tournament in Dubai. King, Akhter, Wolvaardt and Dunkley will be making their first appearances at the tournament, while Khaka, Dottin, Matthews, Ecclestone, Khatun, Chantham and Luus were a part of the previous edition as well, which was held in the UAE in 2020. Chantham will be the only player in action at the tournament, who didn't feature at the World Cup.

ALSO READ: Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Deepti Sharma to lead sides in Women's T20 Challenge

King will be the first Australian to take part in the tournament since the inaugural edition, which was a one-off match, was played in 2018. That edition featured five Australian players.

This will be the fourth edition of the tournament, which was first played as a one-off match between Trailblazers and Supernovas in 2018 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Supernovas had emerged victorious in that match by three wickets.

The second and third editions of the Women’s T20 Challenge were held in 2019 and 2020 in a three-team and four-match format. The second edition was also won by the Supernovas, with Harmanpreet being Player of the Final and Jemimah Rodrigues being the Player of the Tournament.