Women’s Super League T20 squads announced; Luus, de Klerk, Tryon and Sekhukhune to lead

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Quiz: Fast bowlers with more than 50 T20I wickets

© Getty Images

Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced squads for the third edition of the Women’s Super League T20 (WSL) on Thursday (December 3). The tournament will be played from December 14 to 16 at the Newlands Cricket Ground.

The squads for the four teams- Coronation, Duchesses, Starlights, Thistles-were picked during a virtual player draft by the coaches. Nadine de Klerk, Sune Luus, Chloe Tryon and Tumi Sekhukhune were selected as the captains of the respective the sides ahead of the draft. South Africa skipper Dane van Niekerk and allrounder Marizanne Kapp opted out of the tournament due to injury.

Coronation picked star batter Laura Wolvaardt as their first pick, while Duchesses managed to roped in veteran Mignon du Preez. Big-hitting opener Lizelle Lee was named in the Starlights squad and pacer Shabnim Ismail will turn up for Thistles in the tournament.

Tazmin Brits, who won the Women’s Provincial Cricketer of the Year award for 2019-20 in Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) annual Amateur Awards, was named in the Coronation squad along with Ayabonga Khaka, who played in the Women’s T20 Challenge, and left-arm spinner Nonkululeko Mlaba.

ALSO READ: Central Gauteng Lions become first provincial side in South Africa to announce professional contracts for women

Faye Tunnicliffe, who has represented South Africa in eight T20Is, will be part of a strong Duchesses line-up along with Robyn Searle, Sinalo Jafta and Micheala Andrews.

South Africa internationals medium pacer Masabata Klaas, Lara Goodall and Nondumiso Shangase are part of the Starlights squad.

Pace bowling allrounder Eliz-Mari Marx, who topped the wicket-takers charts for Northerns in both the one-day and T20 tournaments taking 10 wickets from six matches in the T20 competition at an economy rate of below five, named in the Thistles squad along with wicket-keeper Trisha Chetty and Anneke Bosch.


Coronation: Nadine de Klerk (c), Laura Wolvaardt, Ayabonga Khaka, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Verunissa Reddy, Madison Landman, Tazmin Brits, Zintle Kula, Kirsty Thompson, Kgomotso Rapoo, Jane Winster, Izelle Cilliers, Raisibe Ntozakhe

Duchesses: Sune Luus (c), Mignon du Preez, Sinalo Jafta, Zintle Mali, Delmi Tucker, Faye Tunnicliffe, Micheala Andrews, Michaela Kirk, Nkosi Gabsile, Robyn Searle, Gandhi Jafta, Alyssa Elxlebben, Monalisa Legodi,

Starlights: Chloe Tryon (c), Lizelle Lee, Masabata Klaas, Andrie Steyn, Lara Goodall, Leah Jones, Nondumiso Shangase, Evodia Yekile, Anri Grobbelaar, Tatum Le Roux, Annemarie Dercksen, Christine Tomlinson, Khushi Mistry

Thistles: Tumi Sekhukune (c), Shabnim Ismail, Trisha Chetty, Anneke Bosch, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Thabethe, Jade de Fiquerido, Nobulumko Baneti, Moseline Daniels, Nadia Mbokotwana, Khayakazi Mathe, Alexandra Candler, Courtney Gouden