White Ferns’ name squad for Twenty-20 World Cup

White Ferns celebrating. ©Getty Images

With the Twenty-20 World Cup only a month-and-a-half away now, the White Ferns’ have named their 15 member squad for the tournament. The World Cup is set to take place between the 9th and 24th of November, in the Caribbean, with matches being played in three cities.

The White Ferns’ have gone with a variety of spin options for the squad, with six tweakers’ having been included. They are Amelia Kerr, Jess Watkin, Leigh Kasperek, Maddy Green, Anna Peterson and the newly appointed skipper, Amy Satterthwaite.

The Twenty-20 World Cup will be Satterthwaite’s second international assignment, following the White Ferns’ tour of Australia. About her appointment, Head Coach Haidee Tiffin said, “Amy is a highly experienced cricketer with over 200 international matches under her belt. She has taken the captaincy in her stride…”

The White Ferns’ have gone with a plethora of spinners keeping in mind the conditions the Caribbean has to offer. The pitches are there are generally low and slow, favouring the spinners. About the squad selection, Tiffen said.”We are blessed with a group of versatile cricketers and know that spin should play a large part in the Caribbean, especially with the slower nature of pitches there.”

All in all, the White Ferns’ have a very well rounded squad that all other teams will be wary of. With a batting line-up boasting the likes of Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine, they have a truly threatening batting attack. To back up their batting, they have a world class bowling line-up. With Lea Tahuhu and Holly Huddleston leading their pace attack and Kerr and Kasperek’s spin supporting, the White Ferns’ are strong all-round.

The squad is also balanced in terms of youth and experience. The White Ferns’ have included relatively inexperienced players such as Bernadine Bezuidenhout and Jess Watkin to help the development of younger members.

Squad: Amy Satterthwaite (C), Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Anna Peterson, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin