West Indies announce contract list for the 2022-23 season

West Indies © Getty Images

Allrounders Mandy Mangru and Jannillea Glasgow have earned the first national contract for the 2022-23 season, Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced on Tuesday (June 28).  A total of 18 players have received the contracts from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.  

Karishma Ramharack and Rashada Williams, who were part of the West Indies squad for the World Cup in New Zealand, are the additions to the list of contracted players. Britney Cooper and Qiana Joseph miss out on the contracts. 

CWI has offered developmental contracts to six players, including young all-rounder Shabika Gajnabi and slow left-arm bowler Kaysia Schultz. The 21-year-old Gajnabi made her debut against Australia in 2019, and she has represented West Indies in 17 internationals. The 25-year-old Guyanese spinner Schultz is yet to make her debut for the national side. 

West Indies’ Lead Selector, Ann Browne-John explained the strategy behind selecting certain players ahead of the busy schedule. “The selectors have placed a great focus on the young developing players because these are the ones who will help to build the team as we look towards the future,” she said.

Also Read: Hayley Matthews replaces Stafanie Taylor as West Indies captain 

West Indies contract list © Women’s CricZone

“The panel believes that the combination of experienced players and the emerging players will give a good base as we continue to prepare teams for international matches and the T20 World Cup early next year.”

CWI Director of Cricket, Jimmy Adams congratulated the players and said, “I am delighted for all the players who have been offered retainers for the upcoming period. This represents a significant investment in the ongoing development of our international players whilst also ensuring our best players are available for selection.”

West Indies recently announced the shift in leadership roles, with Hayley Matthews taking over the captaincy from Stefanie Taylor. Matthews-led Barbados will represent the Caribbeans in the Commonwealth Games, starting from July 28.