Vidarbha, Bengal and Tamil Nadu register thrilling victories on Day 8 of Senior T20 trophy

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Vidarbha, Bengal and Tamil Nadu register thrilling victories on Day 8 of Senior T20 trophy

Shreya Parab carried her scintillating form with the bat, smashing an unbeaten 45. © Sanjula Naik

Disha Kasat's unbeaten 76 overshadowed Shafali Verma's belligerent 47 as Vidarbha registered a six-wicket win over Haryana on Day 8 of the Women’s Senior T20 Trophy 2019-20 on Monday (October 21).

Verma smashed six boundaries and two sixes in her 27-ball knock to take her side to a total of 134 for 3. However, Kasat and Bharti Fulmali (39) combined for a 74-run second wicket stand to lay the foundation for Vidarbha's victory in Nagpur.

In Rajkot, despite Anuja Patil’s 55 not out, Maharashtra went down to Bengal, thanks to contributions from their middle-order. Mandira Mahapatra (31) and veteran Rumeli Dar (27) combined to hand Bengal a thrilling four-wicket win off the penultimate ball.

Meanwhile, Mona Meshram made the most of her opportunity in the absence of Railways' regular stars. Batting first, Railways posted 142 for 4 thanks to Meshram's 69 and a handy knock by Sneh Rana (24). In reply, Railways' discipline with the ball saw them restrict Rajasthan to 54 for 6 to win the match by 88 runs.

Madhusmita Behera returned with four wickets and conceded just nine runs in her four overs as she and Rasanara Parwin, who picked up two wickets, ran through Jammu and Kashmir's line-up to restrict the latter at 48 for the loss of eight wickets in 17 overs. In reply, Madhuri Mehta (21*) and Sarita Meher (11*) chased down the target inside 10 overs.

In another Group E encounter, Goa’s Sanjula Naik and Rupali Chavan picked two wickets each before Shreya Parab carried her scintillating form with an unbeaten 45 to hand their side a nine wicket win over Mizoram.

A day after registering her century, Kerala's opener Jincy George smashed a match-winning 59 not out out before Sajana S picked up two wickets to beat Chhattisgarh by 35 runs in Cuttack.

Tamil Nadu handed a four-wicket defeat to Saurashtra. Ramyashri Prasad, TN's left-arm spinner, first picked up three-wicket haul to restrict Saurashtra under 100 runs. In reply, Hemalatha Dayalan (39) and Niranjana Nagarajan (23) combined to take Tamil Nadu home with one over to spare.

All the Group A matches in Guntur were washed out.


Brief scores:

Group A (Guntur)

Assam versus Madhya Pradesh - No result

Andhra versus Gujarat - No result

Bihar versus Jharkhand - No result

Group B (Nagpur)

Haryana 134/3 in 20 overs (Shafali Verma 47, Sonia Khatri 27; Minal Bodkhe 1-17) lost to Vidarbha 135/4 in 19.4 overs (Disha Kasat 76*, Bharti Fulmali 39; Parmila Kumari 2-25) by six wickets.

Jammu & Kashmir 48/8 in 17 overs (Rubia Sheikh 12; Madhusmita Behera 4-9) lost to Odisha 49/1 in 9.4 overs (Madhuri Mehta 21*; Nadia Mohammed 1-9) by nine wickets.

Railways 142/4 in 20 overs (Mona Meshram 69, Sneh Rana 24; Arpita Choudhary 2-24) beat Rajasthan 54/6 in 20 overs (Anita Choudhary 13; Preeti Bose 2-5, Kavita Patil 1-10) by 88 runs.

Group D (Cuttack)

Punjab 47/2 in 6 overs (Zaman Akhter 29*; Parul Saini 1-11) beat Chandigarh 30/3 in 6 overs (Amanjot Kaur 17*; Sunita Singh 1-5) by 17 runs.

Kerala 106/6 in 20 overs (Jincy George 59*, Sajana S 17; Pransu Priya 3-25) beat Chhattisgarh 71/6 in 20 overs (Yashi Pandey 42*; Keerthy James 3-14, Sajana S 2-18) by 35 runs.

Himachal versus Manipur - No result

Uttarakhand versus Uttar Pradesh - No result

Group E (Rajkot)

Maharashtra 107/4 in 20 overs (Anuja Patil 55*; Gayatri Mal 2-20) lost to Bengal 108/6 in 19.5 overs (Mandira Mahapatra 31, Rumeli Dhar 27; A Patil 1-17) by four wickets.

Arunachal Pradesh 41/8 in 20 overs (Mandeep Kaur 2-4, Sonia Lohiya 1-5) lost to Delhi 42/1 in 6 overs (Ayushi Soni 16*, Neha Bhargava 13) by nine wickets.

Mizoram 79/5 in 20 overs (Apurwa Bhardwaj 24; Sanjula Naik 2-7, Rupali Chavan 2-10) lost to Goa 80/1 in 11.4 overs (Shreya Parab 45*; Ruchita Buley 1-15) by nine wickets.

Saurashtra 97/6 in 20 overs (Neha Chavda 28, Pooja Nimavat 28; Ramyashri Prasad 3-22) lost to Tamil Nadu 99/6 in 19 overs (Hemalatha Dayalan 39, Niranjana Nagarajan 23; Reena Dabhi 3-19) by four wickets.