Victoria make five changes ahead of final two WNCL games

Victoria make five changes ahead of final two WNCL games

Victoria. © Getty Images


Victoria have made as many as five changes to their squad ahead of the final two Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) away games next week in Brisbane. They play Queensland on Tuesday (February 4) before turning out against South Australia a day later (February 5).

Meg Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Ellyse Perry, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck and Georgia Wareham will not be available as they are a part of Australia’s T20I Tri-Series and T20 World Cup squad. They are replaced by Lucy Cripps, Elly Donald, Chloe Rafferty, Amy Vine and Zoe Griffiths.

Molly Strano will manage the captain’s duty in place of regular skipper Lanning. She will also lead the Governor-General’s XI against India earlier this week. Victoria coach David Hemp has said it’s a great opportunity for the players coming in to showcase their skills across these two games.  

“With so many players joining the Australian squad, our players have a great opportunity to showcase their skills across these two games,” Hemp said. “While we do lose some experience from the side, it’s a fantastic endorsement for Victorian cricket that we have six players in the Australian squad for the Tri-Series and the World Cup,” he added.

Victoria are currently sitting third on the table with 17 points from six games that include four victories. They have lost against Australian Capital Territory and Western Australia, and definitely need to win their final two game to have a chance to make it to the summit clash.    

Squad: Molly Strano (c), Makinley Blows, Lucy Cripps, Elly Donald, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Zoe Griffiths, Alana King, Courtney Neale, Rhiann O’Donnell, Chloe Rafferty, Elyse Villani and Amy Vine.