Vanitha VR guides India Blue to secure their first victory

Shruti Banerjee
New Update
Vanitha VR guides India Blue to secure their first victory

Vanitha VR © Getty Images

India Blue claimed their first victory over India Red in the BCCI Women’s T20 Challenger Trophy in Alur. India Red faced their first loss after having two successive wins against India Blue and India Green.

Captain of India Blue, Mithali Raj won the toss and decided to field first. India Red openers Deepti Sharma and Punam Raut started off really well. Anuja Patil gave India Blue their first breakthrough by taking Sharma in the 4th over. She scored 14 off 10 with 3 fours. Soon after that, Tanusree Sarkar joined her captain in the pavilion.

India Red managed to score 36 runs at the end of the 6 overs. Due to some wonderful spell from India Blue bowlers, India Red managed to score only 46 runs at the end of the 10 overs. Soon after that, Mona Meshram lost her wicket to Mansi Joshi for 10. After that, wickets started falling at a regular interval and India Red failed to build a steady partnership.

India Red managed to put up 84 runs on the board at the end of the 20 overs. Punam Raut was the highest scorer for them, having scored 28 off 44 with 2 fours. Mansi Joshi, Hemalatha Dayalan and Anuja Patil scalped 2 wickets each while Poonam Yadav picked 1 for India Blue.

While chasing, it looked like an easy job for India Blue; as the target was mere 85. There was a change in the batting line up as Mithali Raj didn't open the inning alongside Vanitha VR. All-rounder Hemalatha Dayalan opened with Vanitha VR and they too started off really well. But before they could stay a little longer at the crease, Shikha Pandey broke the partnership by taking Hemalatha for 8.

India Blue captain Mithali Raj then joined Vanitha VR and together they added 58 runs. Vanitha VR slammed a classy 51 off 45 with 6 fours and 2 sixes before getting dismissed to Deepti Sharma. Along with her knock, Mithali Raj's unbeaten 23 off 35 helped India Blue to register their first win by 8 wickets with 14 balls to spare.

Shikha Pandey and Deepti Sharma bagged 1-wicket each for India Red.

India Blue will now face India Green tomorrow while India Red will play their next match against India Green on 19th August.