van Niekerk, Wolvaardt scoop top honours at CSA awards

New Update
van Niekerk, Wolvaardt scoop top honours at CSA awards

Proteas Skipper Dane van Niekerk and Laura Wolvaardt at the CSA awards last night in Sandton. ©CSA

Dane van Niekerk, Momentum Proteas Captain, was one the biggest winners at a glittering Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards function in Sandton on Saturday evening, taking home the SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year award for 2018.

This was the second time the skipper had received the top honour, having previously won the award back in 2016. Van Niekerk’s award which came at the end of a 12-month period was acknowledgement for her consistent match-winning performances in the Proteas jersey.

A justified recognition as in the 12-month period the Proteas skipper was ranked as the No 2 all-rounder in women’s international cricket as well as the No 9 ranked bowler in the world. She had an incredible year with bat and ball achieving a rare feat at the ICC Women’s World Cup when she returned unbelievable figures of 4/0 against the West Indies and led the Momentum Proteas to their best ever performance at the world cup when they lost a nail-biting encounter in the semi-finals to eventual champions England.

Cricket South Africa acting chief executive said, "Simply outstanding. What a year both Kagiso and Dane have had. They have both shown the maturity of seasoned campaigners with performances that have really counted when needed most, often blowing away the opposition in the process."

"I must particularly highlight the way our women gripped the imagination of the country as they came so close to their first ever ICC Final," concluded Moroe.

Opening batswoman, Laura Wolvaardt deservedly walked away with the SA Women’s Players Player of the Year and Women’s ODI Player of the Year after she enjoyed a great season which saw her score 578 runs at of 57.8 in 14 matches while big hitter Chloe Tryon was named women’s T20 international cricketer of the year for her 114 runs in 6 matches.

Other winners:  Stacey Lackay named CSA Women's Provincial Cricketer of the Year Award and Nadine de Klerk, CSA Girls U19 Player of the Tournament Award.

The Proteas head to England today for their tour which stars at New Road in Worcester on 9 June.