Uttarakhand to face Madhya Pradesh in U19 One Day Trophy final

New Update
Uncertainty looms over India’s proposed series against South Africa, West Indies

BCCI © Getty Images

After their convincing victories in the semi-finals, Uttarakhand and Madhya Pradesh have qualified for the Under-19 One Day Trophy final, which is scheduled to be played on Monday (October 18).

In the first semi-final, Andhra skipper Thanmayi won the toss and opted to bat first. They lost P Aishwaryarai early. K E Dayana and P Ranga Lakshmi struck a partnership, adding 27 runs for the second wicket. The duo got out in a span of six deliveries, leaving Andhra at 40 for three.

P Pallavi and K Mahanthi Sree kept the innings going for them, but Pooja Raj ran through the middle-order, taking five for 20 in her ten overs. Pallavi top-scored with a 103-ball 22, and the Andhra were all out for 102 from 47.4 overs.

Despite losing their opener Shagun for four runs from 37 balls, Uttarakhand batters forged partnerships consistently, taking them across the line in 36.1 overs. Raghvi scored 32 from 54 balls while Neelam finished with an unbeaten 31 as they won by seven wickets.


Meanwhile, Madhya Pradesh skipper Anushka Sharma added 27 runs with Kalyani Jadhav for the first wicket. Though the former got out, Jadhav scored a 96-ball 41 giving her team a solid start. Nani Rajput and Ananya Dubey contributed in the middle-order, Reema Fareed and Pooja Kumar M picked wickets at regular intervals. 

They were down to 128 for seven in 42.1 overs. Khushi Yadav and Anamika Raghuwanshi took them past the 150-run mark. They finished with 155 for seven in 50 overs. Kumar picked up three for 29 in her ten overs.

Though Rakshitha Nayaka and Kumar got out early, Roshni Kiran and Prerana GR kept Karnataka's chase alive. The turning point in the game came when Prerana was run out at the non-striker's end for leaving the crease before the bowler released the ball.

Mithila Vinod tried to take Karnataka across the line with a patient 26 from 51 balls, but Madhya Pradesh bowlers were just too good. Karnataka were all out for 125 in 42.5 overs, falling short by 30 runs. Sharma was the pick of the bowlers, taking three wickets for just 30 runs. 

Brief Scores:

Andhra 102 all out in 47.4 overs (P Pallavi 22; Pooja Raj 5/20) lost to Uttarakhand 103/3 in 36.1 overs (Raghvi 32; Navya 1/21) by seven wickets.

Madhya Pradesh 155/7 in 50 overs (Kalyani Jadhav 41; Pooja Kumar M 3/29) beat Karnataka 125 all out in 42.5 overs (Mithila Vinod 25; Anushka Sharma 3/30) by 30 runs.