USA intra-regional competition to start from June 4

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
USA Cricket launches new structure for domestic cricket

USA celebrate a wicket. © USA Cricket

USA Cricket announced the captains and the coaches along with the schedule for the inaugural USA intra-regional competition featuring 12 teams that will be played from June 4 to June 13. The governing body announced in a release on Friday (June 4). The tournament will feature 22 matches – 14 T20 matches and eight 40-over matches.

The competition will form the first step of the new domestic structure and will supplement the existing tournaments. The aim of this is to establish a clear pathway from the grassroots to the representative cricket.

The 12 teams representing the 12 regions are Boston, DC, New York, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Chapel Hill, Raleigh, Dallas, Houston, Bay Area, LA and Seattle. They will be captained by Candacy Martin, Lisa Ramjit, Samantha Ramautar, Onika Wallerson, Shebani Bhaskar, Geetika Kodali, Mithali Patwardhan, Mahika Kandanala, Pooja Shah, Sindhu Sriharsha, Erica Rendler and Uzma Iftikhar respectively. All the captains are part of current national training group.

ALSO READ: 'The last year has taught me to respect life more'

Raghunandan Sridhar, Chita Nilak, Ashok Adikoppula, Savitha Nirala, Mohammed Rashid, Rohaan Ghosala, Alvin Kallicharran, Duane Basson, Raju Dholakhia, Mario Rampersaud, Dashrath Sankhe and Rudolph Hinds have been named coaches of the 12 sides respectively.

Based on the performances in the intra-regional competition, teams will be picked to represent each of the north-east, south-east, south-west and west regions for a series of two T20s and two fifty-over matches in July. While the Senior National Championships will be played from August 2-8, the under-18 national championships will be held from August 11-13. The Senior National Championships will consist of three T20s and three 50-over games while the under-19 competition will have four T20s.

The intra-regional competition will start with a 40-over match between Raleigh and Atlanta on June 4.