ACC T20 Championship: Nepal and UAE continue undefeated streaks

Nepal (L) and UAE (R) © Malaysia Cricket

UAE and Nepal continued their winning momentum on the fourth day of the ongoing Asian Cricket Council Women’s T20 Championship 2022 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on Monday, June 20. While UAE eased past Malaysia by 31 runs, Nepal vanquished Bahrain by eight wickets to reign supreme. Singapore also emerged victorious as they trumped Oman by five wickets in a last-over affair.

UAE ease past hosts

Malaysia chose to field first after winning the toss at the UKM-YSD Cricket Oval. Both the UAE openers in Theertha Satish and Esha Oza got their team off to a solid start and put on a 72-run stand before Oza departed at an individual score of 26.

Satish continued her good form with the bat and brought her first half-century of the tournament. She remained unbeaten on 52* off 56 deliveries, including five fours, and played the anchor’s role really well.

She was bolstered by the presence of Kavisha Egodage, who provided UAE’s innings with the impetus it needed at the fag end. Egodage scored a quick-fire 45* off 33 balls at an impressive strike rate of 136.36. Her knock included four fours and one maximum. UAE posted 134 at the end of their 20 overs for the loss of one wicket.

Chasing the target, Malaysia got off to a poor start as they lost both their openers in quick succession. With the scoreboard reading 19/2, Malaysia were staring down the barrel but the pair of Mas Elysa and Elsa Hunter rescued them.

They put together a 54-run stand and showed some resistance but Malaysia’s innings got derailed as soon as both batters were dismissed.

Indhuja Nandakumar was the pick of the UAE bowlers as she finished with figures of 4/10. It was her spell that tormented Malaysia and guided UAE to their second win of the tournament.

ALSO READ: “The sound of the ball hitting the middle of the bat is an emotion”: Theertha Satish

Nepal vanquish Bahrain

Nepal got the better of Bahrain in a rain-marred affair to win their third game of the tournament at the Kinrara Academy Oval in Kuala Lumpur. Electing to field first in a seven-over-per-side fixture, Nepal never allowed the Bahrain batters to get away with the scoring rate and restricted them to a paltry 14.

The chase didn’t turn out to be a smooth sail for Nepal as they lost both their openers in pursuit. But they eventually got home on the fourth delivery of the fourth over to bag a comfortable eight-wicket win.

Singapore brush aside Oman

Singapore defeated Oman by five wickets in the last game of the day. Having won the toss, Singapore elected to field first and dismissed three of Oman’s top-order batters inside the first six overs.

Middle-order batter Priyanka Mendonca steered Oman to a respectable total as she top-scored for them with an unbeaten 48*. She was supported well by Bhakti Shetty (26 runs off 40 balls) and the duo helped Oman to reach 109 in 20 overs.

In pursuit of the total, Singapore themselves got off to an awful start as both their openers couldn’t trouble the scorers at all. It looked gloomy for Singapore initially but the trio of skipper Shafina Mahesh (19 runs off 22 balls), GK Diviya (25 runs off 36 balls), and Vinu Kumar (38* runs off 45 balls) helped the side to bag their first victory of the event.  

Brief scores:

UAE 134/1 in 20 overs (Theertha Satish 52*, Kavisha Egodage 45*; Mas Elysa 1/18) beat Malaysia 103/8 in 20 overs (Mas Elysa 34, Elsa Hunter 34; Indhuja Nandakumar 4/10) by 31 runs POTM: Indhuja Nandakumar

Bahrain 14/6 in 7 overs (Ishara Suhun 6; Kabita Kunwar 2/2, Sabnam Rai 2/3) lost to Nepal 15/2 in 3.4 overs (Sita Rana Magar 4; Pavithra Shetty 1/3, Vilcita Barboza 1/7  by eight wickets POTM: Kabita Kunwar

Oman 109/6 in 20 overs (Priyanka Mendonca 48*; Vinu Kumar 2/20) lost to Singapore 110/5 in 19.5 overs (Vinu Kumar 38; Priyanka Mendonca 2/15) by five wickets POTM: Vinu Kumar