Turkey withdraw from T20 World Cup European Qualifier due to COVID-19 restrictions

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Turkey withdraw from T20 World Cup European Qualifier due to COVID-19 restrictions

ICC T20 World Cup Trophy© Getty Images

Turkey have withdrawn from the European Qualifiers for the T20 World Cup 2023 as the team was not able to secure the necessary approval and travel documentation required for the tour due to COVID-19 restrictions from the Turkish Sports Ministry, ICC confirmed on Wednesday (August 25).

Withdrawal of Turkey on the eve of the tournament will now see the Qualifier be played as a five-team tournament including Netherlands, Scotland, Ireland, Germany, and France at La Manga in Spain with ICC releasing an updated fixture for the same.

“It is with great regret that Turkey will not be taking part in the Europe Qualifier at La Manga,” Andy Wright, ICC Regional Development Manager for Europe said. “We have been in communication with the Federation over the past month to provide any assistance to secure their arrival into Spain in time for the event and would like to thank the Federation for their efforts in trying to secure the documentation.”

ALSO READ: Laura Delany to lead 14-member Ireland squad for ICC T20 World Cup European Qualifier

"We have worked closely with the remaining participating teams and the event will now be played as a five-team tournament. We are looking forward to seeing play getting underway tomorrow in what is still set to be a very competitive event."

Turkey are yet to play international cricket and this would have been their debut if they were to participate in the competition as originally scheduled.

T20 World Cup 2023 will be played in South Africa with the hosts and seven other teams based on ICC rankings qualifying directly for the event. Rest of the two slots will go to the qualifying sides at the end of all the global qualifier tournaments.

Updated schedule for T20 World Cup European Qualifier:

26 August 2021 - Netherlands v Scotland (10:30AM); Ireland v Germany (10:30AM); France v Netherlands (3:30PM)

27 August 2021 - Germany v France (10:30AM); Ireland v Scotland (10:30AM); Netherlands v Germany (3:30PM)

28 August 2021 - Rest Day

29 August 2021 - France v Ireland (10:30AM); Scotland v Germany (10:30AM)

30 August 2021 - Netherlands v Ireland (10:30 AM); Scotland v France (10:30 AM)

All timings are Central European Summer Time (CEST)