Three Sri Lanka players test positive ahead of ICC ODI World Cup Qualifiers

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Sri Lanka announce the squad for the World T20

Sri Lanka team celebrating ©ICC

ICC has revealed that three Sri Lanka players have tested positive for COVID-19 ahead of their opening game in the ODI World Cup Qualifiers against Netherlands on Tuesday (November 23).

It was learnt that players tested positive during a regular screening after two of them showed mild symptoms. The third is asymptomatic at the moment. While the rest of the squad testing negative, they will spend time in isolation as a precautionary measure in the lead up to their first game. The entire squad will be re-tested before the match on Tuesday.

ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley said the event would be proceeding as planned. “We have playing squads of 15 at the event, which allows for injuries and illness, including COVID-19 to be managed, and in addition teams have had the option of bringing traveling reserves with them."

"As you would expect, the remainder of the squad are being closely monitored and they will all be re-tested ahead of taking to the field on Tuesday. The event bio-security plan provides us with protocols to manage positive tests effectively with the intention of enabling the event to proceed whilst keeping all other players and participants safe.”

The first game against Netherlands will mark the return of Sri Lanka to international cricket for the first time since the 2020 T20 World Cup. They are in Group A, along with Ireland, West Indies.

The top three teams from the tournament will qualify for the 2022 ODI World Cup in New Zealand while the top five teams will be a part of the next ODI Championship cycle. 

Sri Lanka: Chamari Atapattu (c), Harshitha Madavi, Inoka Ranaweera, Nilakshi de Silva, Hasini Perera, Sugandika Kumari, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhani, Achini Kulasuriya, Anushka Sanjeewani, Kavisha Dilhari, Tharika Sewwandi, Prasadani Weerakkody, Imesha Dulani, Vishmi Gunaratne, Sachini Nisansala. Reserves: Umesha Thimashini, Kawya Kavindi, Madushika Meththananda, Sathya Sandeepani, Lihini Apsara