Healy, Perry, Devine set for the Hundred 2022; Mandhana, Rodrigues to return for another season

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Magnificent Mandhana leads Brave to an easy win against Fire

Smriti Mandhana © Getty Images

Australia stars Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry and New Zealand skipper Sophie Devine will feature in the Hundred for the first time as the teams announced their retentions and overseas players for 2022. They were all set to feature during the inaugural edition, but pulled out of it due to quarantine restrictions that were in place in their countries due to the pandemic. India stars Smriti Mandhana and Jemimah Rodrigues will also return for a second season, having had a big impact during 2021.

The Hundred – women’s edition will start on August 11 after the Commonwealth Games at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

Perry and Devine had signed up for the Birmingham Phoenix side before they pulled out of the inaugural edition. They will now be seen in action alongside England wicket-keeper Amy Jones and bowlers Issy Wong and Kirstie Gordon, with Phoenix retaining 12 of their 15 players. India opener Shafali Verma, who made her franchise league debut during the last season, won’t return for the Birmingham side.

“I’m so excited to be back playing with Birmingham Phoenix this summer. Last year was incredible for us and the women’s game, it’s only going to get bigger and better with world-class players like Ellyse Perry being able to join this time around. We can’t wait to get going again and to perform in front of full houses again," Wong said.

Defending champions Oval Invincibles have retained the South African trio of Dane van Niekerk, Marizanne Kapp and Shabnim Ismail as they look for back-to-back titles in the 100-ball format.

Heather Knight led London Spirit haven’t  retained any of their overseas players and will be looking to strengthen their lineup, featuring Charlie Dean and Freya Davies, with some new international star signings.

India batters Mandhana and Rodrigues featured for Southern Brave and Northern Superchargers respectively last year and will once again play a key role for their sides in the competition. Brave will also have Australia leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington in their ranks, with Danielle Wyatt set to open the batting with the Indian southpaw.

Superchargers will receive a huge boost in the form of Healy as she replaces fellow Australian batter Laura Kimmince and will form the overseas trio with Rodrigues and Laura Wolvaardt.

ALSO READ: Didn't sleep well ahead of The Hundred debut, says Jemimah Rodrigues

Manchester Originals will have the service of number one ranked T20I bowler Sophie Ecclestone, with Lizelle Lee leading the batting charge. Kate Cross, who led the side in the last edition, and Emma Lamb will also form the core of the side, while Harmanpreet Kaur hasn’t been retained in the Manchester-based side.

“The Hundred is such a cool competition to be involved in and I’m thrilled to be taking part again with Manchester Originals. We were really getting into a groove in the back end of the competition last year, so we have nothing but high hopes for this summer," said Ecclestone.

Trent Rockets will once again be looking towards their England allrounders in Natalie Sciver and Katherine Brunt for a stellar season after an indifferent performance last year. They haven’t named any overseas players in the set up so far even though Scotland skipper Kathryn Bryce will return for a second edition.

Welsh Fire, who finished at the bottom in the inaugural edition, have retained West Indies allrounder Hayley Matthews and will be looking to form a strong overseas contingent to support her.

Women’s sides will announce the rest of the squads – both domestic and overseas - on March 30. England internationals who haven’t been named in the current squads will also find a place in their new teams on the same day. Teams will also be allowed to pick a fourth overseas option via a Wildcard Draft in June ahead of the season. Teams can still field only three overseas stars in their playing XIs as per the tournament rules.

publive-image Oval Invincibles © Getty Images


Birmingham Phoenix: Emily Arlott, Gwen Davies, Sophie Devine, Georgia Elwiss, Ria Fackrell, Phoebe Franklin, Kirstie Gordon, Amy Jones, Evelyn Jones, Ellyse Perry, Abtaha Maqsood, Issy Wong

London Spirit: Amara Carr, Freya Davies, Naomi Dattani, Charlie Dean, Danielle Gibson, Heather Knight, Alice Monaghan, Grace Scrivens

Manchester Originals: Georgie Boyce, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Cordelia Griffith, Laura Jackson, Hannah Jones, Emma Lamb, Lizelle Lee, Eleanor Threlkeld

Northern Superchargers: Hollie Armitage, Alice Davidson-Richards, Alyssa Healy, Bess Heath, Beth Langston, Katie Levick, Kalea Moore, Jemimah Rodrigues, Liz Russell, Linsey Smith, Laura Wolvaardt

Oval Invincibles: Alice Capsey, Natasha Farrant, Grace Gibbs, Danielle Gregory, Shabnim Ismail, Emma Jones, Marizanne Kapp, Dané van Niekerk, Mady Villiers

Southern Brave: Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Sophia Dunkley, Smriti Mandhana, Tara Norris, Carla Rudd, Paige Scholfield, Anya Shrubsole, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Danielle Wyatt

Trent Rockets: Katherine Brunt, Kathryn Bryce, Abbey Freeborn, Sarah Glenn, Natalie Sciver

Welsh Fire: Hannah Baker, Lauren Filer, Katie George, Alex Griffiths, Nicole Harvey, Georgia Hennessy, Hayley Matthews, Claire Nicholas