Thailand announce 15-member side for World Cup Qualifiers

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Thailand announce 15-member side for World Cup Qualifiers
Thailand have announced a 15-member squad that will take part in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers 2021 beginning in Zimbabwe on November 21. Naruemol Chaiwai will lead the side hoping to play their first-ever ODI World Cup in New Zealand in 2022 with Nannapat Koncharoenkai as her deputy.

Earlier this year the 30-year-old led the side in Thailand’s series against Zimbabwe and South Africa Emerging. The right-handed batter also scored 237 runs across seven matches against Zimbabwe as they won the T20I leg of the series. She was also amongst the runs against South Africa Emerging along with Nattakan Chantham and Koncharoenkai.

Chantham was Thailand's best batter through that series, scoring 410 runs across eight matches including List-A two centuries. Nattaya Boochatham, who was impressive with her all-round performance will support Chantham with the bat. Suleeporn Laomi, the leg-spinner, was amongst the wickets in both tours and she will take on the mantle of having to support a strong spin attack that also includes Boochatham, Sornnarin Tippoch and Onnicha Kampchomphu.

ALSO READ: Lessons, laughs, leadership and a love of the game - Thailand's memorable T20 World Cup journey

Thailand are placed in Group B alongside Pakistan, Bangladesh, the USA, and Zimbabwe. Their opening clash against hosts, Zimbabwe, is scheduled for November 21. Every team will play four group stage matches after which the top three teams in the group will progress to the Super Six stage.

Finally, the top three teams in the tournament will join the already qualified five sides in the ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand next year, while the next two placed teams will book a place in the next cycle of the ICC Women’s ODI Championship.

Thailand Squad: Naruemol Chaiwai (C), Chanida Sutthiruang, Thiapatcha Putthawong, Nannaphat Chaihan, Banthida Leephatthana, Nattakan Chantham, Suleeporn Laomi, Sornnarin Tippoch, Rosenanee Kanho, Wongpaka Liengprasert, Phannita Maya, Nattaya Boochatham, Onnicha Kamchomphu, Nannapat Koncharoenkai (VC), Kanyakorn Bunthansen.