Tegan McPharlin set for seventh WBBL season with Adelaide Strikers

Tegan McPharlin set for seventh WBBL season with Adelaide Strikers

Tegan McPharlin plays a shot into the leg-side. © Getty Images

Tegan McPharlin has signed a one-year contract extension with Adelaide Strikers for the seventh season of the Women’s Big Bash League, the club announced on Wednesday (September 15).

“I am very excited to wear the blue again this season,” said McPharlin.

“It’s a bit of a pinch myself moment to think I’ll be suiting up to play in WBBL 07. It’s been a long pre-season, so definitely looking forward to kicking things off, getting out squad together and working with our quality coaches and support staff, who provide an unbelievable environment for us to play our best cricket.”

“Hopefully this season we will be able to play in front of our family, friends and fans after the unusual conditions last year. I simply can’t wait!”

ALSO READ: Sarah Coyte extends tenure with Adelaide Strikers ahead of WBBL07

McPharlin has captained Strikers in the past. The wicketkeeper-batter has been part of the squad since the inaugural edition and has played 76 games so far. In WBBL 06, she won the player of the match award for her 41 not out against Sydney Sixers that she scored in just 26 balls. The effort helped Strikers down the side in pink eventually.

“Tegan is a true professional who does all the right things off-field and consistently performs on-field; she has been a leader within South Australian cricket for a long time and a Striker since day one,” said Luke Williams, head coach of the Strikers.

“Tegan contributes so much to both the culture and performance of our team, so we couldn’t be happier to keep her in blue.”

Squad so far: Katie Mack, Madeline Penna, Darcie Brown, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Bridget Patterson, Laura Wolvaardt, Sarah Coyte, Tegan McPharlin

Read The Next Article