Teams for India Women’s Challengers Trophy announced

Neha Ralli
21 Dec 2017
BCCI today announced the three teams for the upcoming Women’s Challenger Series 2017-18. The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has picked the teams for the series that is scheduled to be played in Indore between January 4-8, 2018.


India Blue, India Red, and India Green will compete against each other with the top two teams battling in the finals on January 8, 2018. 


Team Blue will be led by Smriti Mandhana while India Captain Mithali Raj will lead Team Red. Anuja Patil, who recently led India A against Bangladesh A will lead India Green. The three teams are a mix of top performers at the national and domestic level and is the good platform for the young cricketers to learn from the veterans. Harmanpreet Kaur and Veda Krishnamurthy will miss the Challengers trophy as they are representing Sydney Thunder and Hobart Hurricanes in the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League.




India Blue:

S Mandhana (C), Vanitha VR, M Meshram, T Sarkar, T Bhatia (WK), D Hemalatha, R Gayakwad, R Yadav, J Goswami, P Vastrakar, S Yadav, N Choudhary, Pratyusha C


India Red:

M Raj (C), D Sharma, P Punia, N Tanwar, N Choudhary, S Verma (WK), P Priyadarshani, TP Kanwar, P Yadav, M Joshi, S Parida, M Dakshini, B Fulmali


India Green:

A Patil (C), J Rodrigues, P Raut, D Vaidya, M Das, N Parveen (WK), A Khanam, E Bisht, P Bose, S Pandey, M Singh, S Kumari, S Asha


The series is scheduled to play in Indore.


1. 4th January - India Red vs India Blue

2. 5th January - India Red vs India Green

3. 6th January - India Blue vs India Green

4. 8th January - Final