Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Flag

Sri Lanka

Test Captain

Inoka Ranaweera

ODI Captain

Inoka Ranaweera

T20I Captain

Inoka Ranaweera


Hemantha Devapriya

Best Result in World Cup

  • ODI : 5th (2013)
  • T20I: 1st round (2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016)

Team History

Currently the eighth-ranked side in the world, they compete in the ICC Women’s Championship. Sri Lanka were part of an expansion of the Women’s international game when they made their debut in 1997 against the Netherlands.

In the 2013 World Cup, Sri Lanka beat both England and India, yet have not made much progress since then. Their only test match took place in 1998 where they defeated Pakistan at Colombo. Sri Lanka have never got past the first round of the World T20 competition.

They were involved in a remarkable match in the 2017 ICC World Cup when Chamari Atapattu scored 178 not out against Australia at Bristol. Sri Lanka lost the match but gave their opponents a scare. Atapattu would then become the first Sri Lankan to play in both the Kia Super League and the WBBL.