Tara Norris named in USA squad for Americas Qualifier; Nadia Gruny announces retirement

New Update
Tara Norris named in USA squad for Americas Qualifier; Nadia Gruny announces retirement

Tara Norris in action © Getty Images

Sindhu Sriharsha will lead the USA squad in ICC T20 World Cup Americas Qualifier. Nadia Gruny and Samantha Ramautar have not been considered for selection as they have announced their retirements from international cricket. Philadelphia born England domestic cricketer Tara Norris has been included in the side as the 15th member.

USA last played international cricket in September 2019 and would be facing Argentina, Brazil, Canada in the double round-robin tournament that is scheduled to be played in Mexico from October 18 to 25. The team that top the competition will qualify for the Global Qualifer for the 2023 T20 World Cup.

“It is truly fantastic that we are finally getting back into action on the international stage after what’s been an incredibly lengthy wait," head coach Julia Price said. "It’s been a brilliant year of domestic action though and the new domestic structure has given our players the opportunity to test and challenge themselves both on and off the field in order to be selected for the national team. With a great balance of experience and outstanding new talent coming through the system, we are better prepared than ever before and very excited to play cricket for the USA after two long years away from the international game.”

ALSO READ: Of second comings and bravery— Sindhu Sriharsha's unconventional path to the top

There are nine uncapped players in the 15-member squad. Left-arm pacer Norris has represented Southern Vipers in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy (RHF Trophy) and Charlotte Edwards Cup (CE Cup) and also played for Southern Brave in The Hundred.

The 37-year-old Gruny represented USA in eight T20Is while Ramautar has played seven matches. Gruny will continue in her role as one of the board members and also as the chair of the women and girls committee. Ramautar has recently been named in the constitutional review working group.

USA Squad: Sindhu Sriharsha (c), Shebani Bhaskar, Akshatha Rao, Anika Kolan, Chetnaa Prasad, Gargi Bhogle, Geetika Kodali, Holly Charles, Isani Vaghela, Laasya Mullapudi, Moksha Chaudhary, Sara Farooq, Suhani Thadani, Tara Norris, Uzma Iftikar