CWG 2022: T20I matches to be played between July 29 and August 7

Growing cricket through the Commonwealth Games

Birmingham 2022 will mostly see Women's Cricket. ©Getty Images

The detailed schedule for the Birmingham Commonwealth Games (CWG) 2022 has been confirmed, as cricket will grace the CWG for the first time since 1998. The cricket leg of the competition will commence on July 29.

The group stage matches will be played till August 4, with both the semi-final matches taking place on August 6, 2022. The final (gold medal) and third-place (bronze medal) matches are scheduled for August 7, 2022. All the matches will be played at the iconic Edgbaston Cricket Ground.

The 1998 edition featured a men’s 50-over competition and cricket has stayed away from this international multi-sport event since. Birmingham 2022 will be the debut of both women’s game as well as the T20 format. Another highlight of this edition of CWG, according to the organizers is that the “Competition schedule features more medal events for women than men for the first time in Commonwealth Games history,”

Eight countries will take part in the competition and England has qualified for it by being the host. Apart from England, the six other top-ranked sides in the ICC T20I Rankings for teams as of April 1, 2021, have qualified for the competition. These include Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa, and Pakistan.

Although the Caribbean Islands compete as West Indies in the ICC tournaments, a separate competition will be held on the Island a qualifying tournament for those nations will decide which team will compete in the CWG 2022. The final eighth spot in the CWG will be awarded to the winner of the qualifying tournament which will be held by January 31, 2021.

Schedule for CWG 2022:

Group B Match 1 - 29 July 2022

Group B Match 2 - 29 July 2022

Group A Match 1 - 30 July 2022

Group A Match 2 - 30 July 2022

Group B Match 3 - 31 July 2022

Group B Match 4 - 31 July 2022

Group A Match 3 - 2 August 2022

Group A Match 4 - 2 August 2022

Group B Match 5 - 3 August 2022

Group B Match 6 - 3 August 2022

Group A Match 5 - 4 August 2022

Group A Match 6 - 4 August 2022

Semi-final 1 - 6 August 2022

Semi-final 2 - 6 August 2022

Third-place (Bronze Medal) - 7 August 2022

Final (Gold Medal) - 7 August 2022