Suzie Bates wins big at Otago annual awards

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Suzie Bates wins big at Otago annual awards

Suzie Bates © Getty Images

The 34-year old veteran was awarded the Batter of the Year as well as the Cricketer of the Year by the Otago Cricket Association. A jaw-dropping 722 runs across all the formats for Otago Sparks at an excellent average of 51.57 saw her bag the honour. Her consistent display throughout the season included one century and six half-centuries.

Bates was also the highest run-getter of the Super Smash season. She racked up 504 runs in 12 matches at an outstanding average of 56.00, including four half-centuries and three unbeaten knocks. Her dream run in the Super Smash also helped her bag the Super Smash Player of the Year for the season 2021-22. Her consistent efforts with the bat propelled the Sparks to the final of Super Smash where they lost to Wellington Blaze by 75 runs.


The Bowler of the Year was given to Emma Black for her astounding performances throughout the season. Black claimed 29 dismissals across HBJ Shield and Super Smash to clinch the award. The last HBJ Shield season saw Black fetch her first five-wicket haul and finish as the fourth-highest wicket-taker in the tournament. With 16 wickets in 12 Super Smash matches, Black ended up as the fifth-highest wicket-taker.

ALSO READ: Chose cricket because of the leadership responsibility, says Suzie Bates

The HBJ Shield Player of the Year award went to Kate Ebrahim for scoring 452 runs at a terrific average of 75.2. She scored an unbeaten 96 in the final of HBJ Shield to help Sparks win the tournament. Right-arm off-spinner Eden Carson received the Most Valuable Player of the Year award for bagging 31 dismissals across all formats. She also claimed the Outstanding Individual Performance of the Year award for her stunning display in HBJ Shield final - 5/17 in ten overs against Blaze.

The 18-year old young pacer, Molly Loe was awarded the Rising Star of the Year award as she claimed 15 dismissals across formats for Otago. One of the most anticipated awards of the evening - Players Player of the Year went to Caitlin Blakely, and Polly Inglis. In addition to that, Inglis also won the Fielder of the Year award.

The annual awards also saw the felicitation of many youngsters who are trying to make a name for themselves. The Under 19 batter of the Year award was given to Paige Loggenberg for scoring 214 runs at the National Under-19 tournament.

On the other hand, the Bowler of the Year award in the same category went to Chloe Deerness for claiming 25 scalps across the Otago Under-19 programmeDeerness also won the Outstanding Performer of the Year award for bagging 25 wickets and scoring over 200 runs across the Otago U19 Women’s programme.


Otago Sparks Rising Star - Molly Loe

Otago Sparks Super Smash Player of the Year - Suzie Bates

Hallyburton Johnstone Shield Player of the Year - Kate Ebrahim

Otago Sparks Bowler of Year - Emma Black

Otago Sparks Fielder of Year - Polly Inglis

Otago Sparks Batter of the Year - Suzie Bates

Outstanding Individual Performance - Eden Carson

  • 5/17 (10.0) – HBJ Grand Final vs Wellington

Otago Spark Most Valuable Player - Eden Carson

Otago Sparks Players Player of the Year - Caitlin Blakely, Polly Inglis

Otago Sparks Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates 

Under-19 awards:

Otago Under-19 Women Batter of Year - Paige Loggenberg 

Otago Under-19 Women Bowler of Year - Chloe Deerness

Otago Under-19 Women Outstanding Performer of the Year - Chloe Deerness