Surrey retain Lee, Kapp and van Niekerk

New Update
Lizelle Lee shoots Stars to the summit in a thrilling final display

Surrey Stars won the third edition of the Super League. ©Getty Images

Surrey Stars have retained the South African trio of Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee and Dane van Niekerk as their overseas players for the fourth and final edition of the Women’s Cricket Super League. The announcement was made by the club on Friday (July 5).

All three players were crucial to Surrey's title-winning campaign last season. Therefore, Richard Bedbrook, head coach of Surrey, has decided to stick to a winning formula.

“I’m delighted that Marizanne, Lizelle and Dane will all be returning for this year’s Kia Super League,” said Bedbrook. “Not only did all three complement the skill set of our county and international players excellently, they were integral in the positive attitude of the squad throughout last year’s successful competition.

“We’re all looking forward to welcoming them back into the fold as we attempt to retain our trophy in the tournament’s final season.”

Lee had a particularly memorable season, scoring 352 runs across 11 matches, including a century in the final against Loughborough Lightning. She was Surrey’s second highest run-scorer in the tournament— behind Nat Sciver— and fourth overall. Her runs came at a staggering strike rate of 149.15 and included 18 sixes. Lee also formed a strong partnership at the top of the order with Bryony Smith.

Kapp and van Niekerk also made important contributions in 2018. Kapp, who has been part of the club since the first season of the WCSL claimed 11 wickets and scored 104 runs in 11 matches. The allrounder, who often took the new ball, and also bowled at the death, had finished with an impressive tournament economy rate of 5.66.

Van Niekerk, who shifted over to Surrey having represented Loughborough in the previous years, took 13 wickets at an average of 14.76. The leg-spinner was Surrey’s highest wicket-taker. She also chipped in with 146 runs in the middle order. 

Natalie Sciver, Sarah Taylor, Laura Marsh and Smith are the England internationals in the squad. Sciver will lead the team once again.

Surrey begin their title defence against Yorkshire Diamonds at Headingley on Tuesday 6th August with their first home fixture against Lancashire Thunder just two days later at Guildford.

Full squad: Nat Sciver (c), Aylish Cranstone, Gwenan Davies, Grace Gibbs, Amy Gordon, Eva Gray, Hannah Jones, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Laura Marsh, Bryony Smith, Rhianna Southby, Sarah Taylor, Dane van Niekerk, Mady Villiers