Sune Luus to lead South Africa against India

Sune Luus to lead South Africa against India

South Africa are speculated to tour India for a limited-overs series. © Cricket South Africa

South Africa all-rounder Sune Luus has been handed the captaincy role again for the limited-overs series against India as Dane van Niekerk continues to nurse an injury. Luus had captained Proteas side that won the five-match T20I series and drew three ODIs against Pakistan in May earlier this year.

The series consists of five T20Is followed by three ODIs in Surat and Baroda respectively. The tour will see the return of Ayabonga Khaka, who has not been available for over a year due to a serious shoulder surgery. Marizanne Kapp, the right-arm seamer, has made herself unavailable for the shortest format.

“With a few players not available for the tour, it gives us an opportunity to look at some options going into the upcoming New Zealand away series and the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup,” said Clinton du Preez, CSA Selection convener .

Nonkululeko Mlaba, the slow left-arm bowler, earned a maiden call-up to the national setup.

“Nonkululeko Mlaba has been included as a new cap into the squad on the back of a successful Emerging Tour against Bangladesh and the Women’s T20 Super League. She is a talented left-arm spinner who will complement our bowling attack,” du Preez said.

Anneke Bosch returned to the side after an impressive showing during the Emerging series against Bangladesh. “Anneke Bosch has been a steady contributor for North West and was also part of the recent Emerging Squad, and she gives us as an extra all-rounder option,” said du Preez.

Trisha Chetty also made a comeback in the ODI squad after a lengthy injury-enforced absence.

Hilton Moreeng, national head coach, is upbeat about his side's prospects.

“This is a very important tour for us as we continue to gain competitive game time leading up to next year’s ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia. This is followed by the ODI series which is an important part of the qualification process for the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2021,” Moreeng said.

Meanwhile, Chloe Tryon continues to be sidelined because of an injury.

ODI squad: Sune Luus (c), Tasmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Lara Goodall, Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Mignon du Preez, Laura Wolvaardt

T20I squad: Sune Luus (c), Anneke Bosch, Tasmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, S Ismail, Sinola Jafta, Ayabonga Khaka, Lara Goodall, Lizelle Lee, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Mignon du Preez, Laura Wolvaardt

Read the Next Article