Chamari Athapaththu to lead 15-member Sri Lanka squad for Pakistan tour

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Chamari Athapaththu to lead 15-member Sri Lanka squad for Pakistan tour

Sri Lanka were winners of ICC Commonwealth Games Qualifier © ICC

Sri Lanka have announced a 15-member squad for the six-match tour of Pakistan that’s scheduled to start with three T20Is from May 24, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Wednesday (May 11).

The squad will be once again led by Chamari Athapaththu and the side will feature experienced players like Prasadani Weerakkody, Udeshika Prabodhani. Young Harshitha Madavi, who has been impressive in her short international career so far, is also part of the team alongside Hasini Perera and Kavisha Dilhari.

Sri Lanka last played international cricket when they won the ICC Commonwealth Games Qualifier to make it to the Commonwealth Games 2022 that’s scheduled to be conducted in Birmingham from late July.

The Island nation couldn’t make it to the World Cup 2022 when they failed to qualify for the event after the ICC Global Qualifier in Zimbabwe was called off owing to the travel restrictions that were in place in the country due to new variant of COVID-19. Subsequently Bangladesh, Pakistan, and West Indies made it to the global tournament.

ALSO READ: Pakistan omit Javeria Khan from training camp for Sri Lanka series; Ayesha Naseem named in 26 probables

Sri Lanka will start their ICC Women’s Championship for the 2022-25 cycle with the three ODIs against Pakistan during the tour having qualified for it alongside Ireland. The governing body also announced five stand by players to go with the 15-member squad.

According to the release the team will leave on May 19 for Pakistan.

Squad: Chamari Athapaththu, Hasini Perera, Harshitha Madavi, Imesha Dulani, Prasadani Weerakkody, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Sachini Nisansala, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani

Stand by players: Kawya Kavindi, Rashmi de Silva, Sathya Sandeepani, Malsha Shehani, Tharika Sewwandi


First T20I – 24 May

Second T20I – 26 May

Third T20I – 28 May

First ODI – June 1

Second ODI – June 3

Third ODI – June 5

* All matches will be played at the Southend Club in Karachi

** T20Is will start at 2:00 PM local time, ODIs at 9:30 AM local time