Sri Lanka announces 15-player squad for the South Africa tour

New Update
More Details emerge about suspicious Indians at Katunayake

De Silva is adamant that the team is headed in the right direction. ©SLC

Sri Lanka Cricket today announced 15-player squad that will travel to South Africa for three ODIs and three T20Is.

Sri Lanka will begin the tour with three T20Is on February 1st, 3rd and 6th followed by three ODIs starting from the 11th, 14th and 17th which are part of  ICC Women’s Championship One-Day International series. The matches will be played at 4 venues.

Sri Lanka are currently 8th in the ICC ODI team rankings whereas the hosts are ranked 5th. Last time, Sri Lanka toured South Africa was in 2013 which the Proteas won the ODI series 2-0 and the T20Is series 2-1.

Also readProteas announced the squad as Tunnicliffe, Goodall, Brits and Steyn earn the recall

Chamari Atapattu will lead the touring side with the inclusion of Umesha Thimashini subject to fitness. 

Squad: Chamari Atapattu (c), Prasadani Weerakkody, Anushka Sanjeewani, Tharika Sewwandi, Hasini Perera, Imalka Mendis, Harshitha Samarawickrema, Shashikala Siriwardena, Nilakshi De Silva, Umesha Thimashini (Subject to fitness), Kaveesha Dilhari, Achini Kulasooriya, Udeshika Probodani, Inoka Ranaweera, Oshadi Ranasinghe

Click here for the full schedule