South East Stars announce squad for Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy; Tash Farrant to lead

New Update
South East Stars announce squad for Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy; Tash Farrant to lead

Tash Farrant. © Kent Cricket

The South East Stars –the team representing Kent and Surrey in regional women’s cricket -- have announced a 14-member squad on Tuesday (August 18) for the inaugural Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy in addition to the four, who has signed professional contracts earlier in the year. Tash Farrant will lead the side. All these 14 players have been signed on pay-as-you-play agreements.

Among the four; Sophia Dunkley, Alice Davidson-Richards and Bryony Smith are currently with the England national team squad, whose proposed series against South Africa in September has been cancelled after the latter opted out on Tuesday. Meanwhile, Farrant will be available for selection throughout the tournament which starts on August 29.

While nine players have been picked from Surrey, the remaining five came from Kent. “I’m delighted to present the first-ever group of players that will represent South East Stars,” said Regional Director of Women’s Cricket Richard Bedbrook.

ALSO READ: I started performing badly because I was too busy concentrating on everyone else: Alex Hartley

“With Alice, Sophia & Bryony potentially away with England for the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, it was important we got the balance of the core 15 right. I feel we’ve done that with this squad and I’ve been fortunate there are so many talented players at both Surrey & Kent to work with.

“It’s taken a lot of hard work from everyone involved in the game to get us to this point in the first year of the new regional structure and now we’re just looking forward to getting together as a team and preparing for the competition to come,” he added. The squad will start training soon ahead of their opener against Western Storm at Beckenham on August 29.

The 14-member squad:  

Maxine Blythin, Susie Rowe, Megan Belt, Phoebe Franklin, Grace Gibbs (all Kent), Rhianna Southby, Kirstie White, Aylish Cranstone, Alice Capsey, Hannah Jones, Chloe Brewer, Amy Gordon, Eva Gray and Danielle Gregory (all Surrey).