South Africa to tour West Indies for three T20Is and five ODIs

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Bowlers, du Preez-Bosch partnership headline South Africa's 4-1 series win

South Africa team celebrate a wicket. © BCCI

South Africa to tour West Indies for three T20Is and five ODIs with the shorter format scheduled to begin on August 31, 2021.

The entire T20I series and the fourth and fifth ODIs would be played at the Sir Viv Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua. The Coolidge Cricket Ground will host the first three ODIs.

 The series against South Africa will be the second international assignment for the hosts after the recently concluded tour of Pakistan. West Indies won the T20I series three-nil and the ODI series by a margin of 3-2. South Africa, on the other hand, would be playing their first international fixture after their tour of India earlier in March 2021. 

Speaking about the tour, head coach Hilton Moreeng said the series could not have come at a better for them to return to international cricket. “It is fantastic to be able to announce our schedule to the West Indies, a timely coming back for us to competitive cricket after a lengthy period without game time."

 “Every ODI series for us carries even more weight as we have our sights firmly set on the cricket showpiece that will be taking place next year. I believe it is just as important for our hosts as they strive towards qualification for the ICC World Cup."

He said that the T20I series would challenge the players and help them prepare before the ODI series in the lead up to the World Cup next year.

“The three T20Is at the beginning of the tour present another welcome opportunity for the players to challenge their skills on the international stage in the build-up to the ODIs. Also, a good test for us to see how far we are in terms of match readiness.”


First T20I: August 31, 2021

Second T20I: September 2, 2021

Third T20I: September 4, 2021

First ODI: September 7, 2021

Second ODI: September 10, 2021

Third ODI: September 13, 2021

Fourth ODI: September 16, 2021

Fifth ODI: September 19, 2021