Dane van Niekerk, Chloe Tryon return as South Africa name 18-member squad for West Indies tour

New Update
Bowlers, du Preez-Bosch partnership headline South Africa's 4-1 series win

South Africa team celebrate a wicket. © BCCI

South Africa have named an 18-member squad for the tour of West Indies that’s scheduled to be played from August 31 to September 19. Skipper Dane van Niekerk and allrounder Chloe Tryon make a comeback to the side after long injury layoffs, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced on Tuesday (August 17). South Africa will travel to Antigua on August 23 for the eight-match limited overs series – comprising of three T20Is and five ODIs – starting with the first T20I on August 31 at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

Both van Niekerk and Tryon missed South Africa’s home series against Pakistan and the tour to India early this year. They are currently playing in The Hundred in England for Oval Invincibles and London Spirit respectively. Apart from the addition of these two seasoned campaigners, there aren’t many changes from the squad the toured India in March. Batters Faye Tunnicliffe and Anneke Bosch are the only ones omitted from the side that had the successful series against India.

Head coach Hilton Moreeng expressed his happiness with the performance of the players that are part of The Hundred and added that they are looking forward to welcome van Niekerk and Tryon to the squad after their time away from the side.

ALSO READ: Thailand to tour Zimbabwe and South Africa ahead of ICC T20 World cup Asia Qualifiers

“A few of our players have been making solid progress in their return from injuries and we are glad to see them giving a good account of themselves in International tournaments. We look forward to them taking part in this series after some time away from the national set up,” Moreeng said.

“Following the conclusion of our recent camps in Pretoria the players have continued with their training programme, followed by a period of rest and recovery before reconvening for our week-long camp ahead of our departure on Monday.

South Africa squad: Dane van Niekerk (c), Sune Luus, Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta,Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondumiso Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukhune, Masabata Klaas