Singapore to host inaugural T10 League in July next year


Top cricketers will be seen in action in the inaugural Singapore T10 League in July next year, the country’s cricket association announced recently. The league is scheduled to be held from July 1 to 15  at the Singapore Sports Club in Kallang.

“This is the first T10 league where both men’s and women’s teams will be participating. The first year will have six teams in the fray and the number will be increased to eight teams from the third year onwards,” the statement read.

It has been understood that the franchise teams from India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, UK, China and Bangladesh will be taking park in the league.

ALSO READ: Mithu Mukherjee bats for state associations to start own domestic leagues

“There’s a consideration that teams may carry the names of various regions in different countries, although it is not finalised yet. (However), one thing is confirmed that teams will have ownership from India and Pakistan which will create a virtual India vs Pakistan contest during the league,” a source privy to the development was quoted as saying to The News.

It has also been learnt that all the franchises will be offered two teams – one men’s and one women’s with central management and both the squads will practice together.

“This will allow women players from smaller teams to learn from their male counterparts and top coaches,” the source said. “(The) idea is to have one male and one female coach along with a gender-balanced support staff for the teams.”