Shreya Karar and Richa shine as Bengal qualifies to the Quarter-Final

New Update
BCCI changes inter-state women’s one-day calendar due to lack of umpires


Bengal vs Uttarakhand

Bengal won the toss and chose to bat first. Bengal openers - Santhita Biswas and Richa built a partnership of 55 runs. After the dismissal of Biswas, Richa and Ankita Chakraborty powered the team with a partnership of 93 runs. They both lost their wicket in the consecutive deliveries as Bengal were left 148 for 3 wickets. Bengal managed to gather 224 runs with the joint effort of the lower order.

In the start of the second innings, Shreya Karar picked up the Uttarakhand trio- Kanchan Parihar 2, Raghvi 10 and Neelam 0 to limit their team to 16 for the loss of 3 wickets. Radha Chand was the leading run-getter at 15 while Shreya Karar’s formidable bowling toppled the Uttarakhand lower order batter to end the match with 6 wicket haul to register a mammoth 167 runs win.

Brief Scores-

Bengal 224/7 (Richa 60, Nisha Mishra 2/29) beat Uttarakhand 57/10 (Radha Chand 15, Shreya Karar 6/12) by 167 Runs

Uttar Pradesh vs Odisha

Uttar Pradesh, Sudha Shukla’s 3 wicket haul to restrict Odisha to 140 including Kajal Jena’s 34 and Poonam Nayak’s 31. Odisha got off to a good start but after a 58 run opening partnership but the team toppled after the wicket of Rasmita Chinhara and in-form Jena. Indrani Chhatria played a small cameo for 14. Also, Falak Naz’s 2 wickets haul for 14 runs.

Despite, Poonam Nayak of Odisha’s 4 wicket haul Shipra Giri’s unbeaten 44 powered Uttar Pradesh’s chase to qualify to the quarter-final. Muskan Malik also contributed 38 to the total but Uttar Pradesh defeated Odisha by 3 wickets.

Brief Scores-

Odisha 140/10 (Kajal Jena 34, Sudha Shukla 3/20) lost to Uttar Pradesh 143/7 ( Shipra Giri 44, Poonam Nayak 4/14) by 3 wickets