Settled Thailand set for T20 World Cup dress rehearsal

Thailand cricket team. © ICC

Thailand have named a strong 14-member squad for the Quadrangular T20 series to be played in Patna. There are a couple of changes to the squad that played the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2019.

Arriya Yenyuak, the right-arm seamer, and Phannita Maya, both of whom were a part of the Qualifiers, have made way for Thipatcha Putthawong, who last played for Thailand in January 2019, and Suwanan Khiaoto,who is yet uncapped. The rest of the side has a settled look and is continued to be captained by Sornnarin Tippoch.

Naruemol Chaiwai and Natakkan Chantham, Thailand’s top-two run-getters in T20Is, also feature in the side which has the reliable and experienced Nattaya Boochatham in the mix. Promising leg-spinner Suleeporn Laomi, who had managed to outfox many a batter in the Qualifiers.

Thailand will play their opening match on Thursday (January 16) against India B in a series that also features India A and Bangladesh. This will be Thailand as well as Bangladesh’s last series before the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020, which starts from February 21.

Squad: Sornnarin Tippoch (captain); Nattaya Boochatham; Wongpaka Liengprasert; Ratanaporn Padunglerd; Onnicha Kamchomphu (wk); Naruemol Chaiwai; Chanida Suttiruang; Nannapat Khoncharoenkrai; Soraya Lateh; Rosenanee Kanoh; Suleeporn Laomi; Nattakan Chantham, Thipatcha Putthawong, Suwanan Khiaoto