Scotland announce 14-member squad for Commonwealth Games Qualifiers in Malaysia starting on January 18

New Update
Scotland announce 14-member squad for Commonwealth Games Qualifiers in Malaysia starting on January 18

Scotland women's cricket team © (Twitter/CricketScotland)

Cricket Scotland has announced a 14-member squad which will be travelling to Malaysia for the Commonwealth Games Qualifiers. The five-team tournament will be starting on January 18, 2022 in Kuala Lumpur. The tournament will be played in the round-robin format with the table toppers joining the seven teams who have already booked their spots for the main event in Birmingham later this year.  

After having a relatively successful 2021, Scotland will hope to start the new year on a high. A few months ago, they had managed to top the 2021 ICC Women's T20 World Cup Europe Qualifiers, winning all their matches on the way, including a game against Ireland. Now, in Malaysia, Scotland will be up against Bangladesh, Kenya, Malaysia and Sri Lanka. 

Scotland will also be playing in the 2022 ICC Women's T20 World Cup Qualifier, the dates and venues of which are yet to be announced. All-rounder Kathryn Bryce has been named the captain of the team while her sister Sarah Bryce will be donning the gloves and take the role of the deputy.

“We’re really looking forward to testing ourselves against teams like Sri Lanka and Bangladesh who’ve been near the top of the world stage for a long time. We’ve seen some good progression during our preparation for the tournament so far and while we know it’s going to be challenging, I believe that we are ready and we are going into the tournament with the goal of winning," Kathryn said.

Upon their arrival in Malaysia, the Scotland team will undergo a seven-day quarantine before they are allowed to train. They will be facing the hosts, Malaysia in their opening game of the tournament on January 18. Later on the same day, Bangladesh and Kenya will be taking on each other. There will be no final in this tournament and the team which will end as the top ranked side will join England, New Zealand and South Africa in Group B of the main event which is scheduled to start on July 29, 2022. 

Scotland Squad: Kathyrn Bryce (c), Abbi Aitken-Drummond, Sarah Bryce (wk), Priyanaz Chatterji, Katherine Fraser, Lorna Jack, Ailsa Lister, Abtaha Maqsood, Megan McColl, Katie McGill, Hannah Rainey, Charis Scott, Rachel Slater, Ellen Watson, Orla Montgomery (Non Travelling Reserve)

Commonwealth Games Qualifiers schedule: 

18th Jan: Malaysia vs Scotland, Bangladesh vs Kenya 

19th Jan: Scotland vs Sri Lanka, Malaysia vs Bangladesh 

20th Jan: Kenya vs Sri Lanka 

22nd Jan: Kenya vs Scotland, Malaysia vs Sri Lanka 

23rd Jan: Bangladesh vs Scotland, Malaysia vs Kenya 

24th Jan: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka