Rumeli Dhar, Nuzhat Parween shine in super league of T20 trophy

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Rumeli Dhar, Nuzhat Parween shine in super league of T20 trophy

Nuzhat Parween. © Women's CricZone

Rumeli Dhar and Nuzhat Parween shone with the bat in the super league of the ongoing Senior T20 trophy on Thursday (October 31). The day witnessed Baroda, Bengal, Railways and Andhra registering victories over Maharashtra, Karnataka, Jharkhand and Vidarbha, respectively.

Allround Baroda beat Maharashtra by 18 runs in Mulapadu. Binaisha Surti (36) and Palak Patel (25) combined to give a brilliant start to Baroda, adding 60 for the opening wicket. For Maharashtra, although Maya Sonawane and Aditi Gaikwad shared four wickets between them they could not stop Tanvir Shaikh's (18* off 6 balls) onslaught that ensured Baroda got to a total of 120 for six. In reply, Maharashtra skipper Mukta Magre (32) and Shivali Shinde (29) tried to build the innings, but once both were dismissed Maharashtra could not recover. Tarannum Pathan and Shalini Sharma picked up two wickets each to restrict Maharashtra for 102 for six.

Elsewhere, veteran Rumeli Dhar's fifty and a three-wicket haul by Gouher Sultana helped Bengal hand a 56-run defeat to Karnataka. Bengal lost their opener Gayatri Mal (10) in the fifth over and that brought Dhar (52) to the middle. The experienced player ensured stability while Mita Paul (34) played second fiddle. The partnership saw Bengal post a competitive score of 133 for four. In reply, Vanitha VR (41) was the sole warrior for Karnataka as Sultana led the bowling department of Bengal to bundle out Karnataka for 77.

Fresh off a successful Emerging Asia Cup campaign with India A, Railways' Nuzhat Parween scored a match-winning knock of 74 not out before Preeti Bose and Shubhlakshmi Sharma ran through Jharkhand's line-up to secure a 71-run win. After an early hiccup, Parween and Rana combined to posted an imposing score of 129 for the loss of one wicket in 12 overs.

In reply, apart from Rashmi Gudhia (22) and Niharika Prasad (26*), no Jharkhand batter could make an impact as Bose and Shubhlakshmi picked up three wickets each.

Meanwhile, Padmaja Ellutla's allround performance helped Andhra beat Vidarbha by five wickets. First, Ellutla took two wickets to keep Vidarbha batters under check and then scored 21 to end Vidarbha's hopes.

Brief scores:

Baroda 120/6 in 20 overs (Binaisha Surti 36, Palak Patel 25; Maya Sonawane 2-17) beat Maharashtra 102/6 in 20 overs (Mukta Magre 32; Shalini Sharma 2-23, Tarannum Pathan 2-25) by 18 runs

Bengal 133/4 in 20 overs (Rumeli Dhar 52, Mita Paul 34; Chandu Venkateshappa 2-19) beat Karnataka 77/10 in 17.3 overs (Vanitha VR 41; Gouher Sultana 3-8, Mita Paul 1-2) by 56 runs.

Railways 129/1 in 12 overs (Nuzhat Parween 74*, Sneh Rana 37*; Mamta Paswan 1-19) beat Jharkhand 58/7 in 12 overs (Niharika Prasad 26; Preeti Bose 3-1, Shubhlakshmi Sharma 3-11) by 71 runs.

Vidarbha 93/6 in 16 overs (Krutika Pophali 25; Padmaja Ellutla 2-14, Chandra Gadwal 2-16) lost to Andhra 98/5 in 15.2 overs (Venkata Pothineni 30, Padmaja Ellutla 21; Nupur Kohale 2-23) by five wickets.