Rubiya Syed hits unbeaten ton; Mumbai, Karnataka begin Senior One Day campaign with wins

New Update
Rubiya Syed hits unbeaten ton; Mumbai, Karnataka begin Senior One Day campaign with wins

Karnataka team © Divya G/ Facebook

Rubiya Syed, Jammu & Kashmir captain, smashed an unbeaten 102 to star in their run-chase against Sikkim in the Women’s Senior One Day Trophy on Saturday (March 13). Sikkim had posted 188 for 9 in their 50 overs, thanks to Sarika Koli, who hit 112. Syed, who picked a wicket, then hit 10 fours and three sixes in her 98 ball knock to register the win and push J&K; to the top of the Plate standings after two rounds.

In Group E fixtures in Chennai, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka got their campaigns off to a winning start. Tamil Nadu were helped to 196 by Arshi Choudhary’s 70 and a quick hand of 52 not out by Niranjana Nagarajan before the bowlers helped restrict Himachal for 102. Nagarajan picked up three wickets, as did RN Ramyashri and SB Keerthana.

Karnataka, meanwhile, first dismissed Delhi for 184 with Chandu V picking up three for 23 and then chased down the target with Divya Gnanananda making 40 and a couple of thirties by S Shubha and Rakshitha Krishnappa.

Mumbai, Baroda and Punjab got off to winning starts in Group D in Indore.


Brief Scores

Group D, Indore

Madhya Pradesh 136 all out in 48.4 overs (Salonee Dangore 41) lost to Mumbai 137/7 in 47.4 overs (Esha Oza 43; Poonam Soni 2/19, Priti Yadav 2/21) by three wickets

Kerala 194 all out in 47.3 overs (Sajana S 32, Drishya IV 30; Tarannum Pathan 3/41, Kesha 3/41) lost to Baroda 195/8 in 49.4 overs (Amrita Joseph 54; Minnu Mani 3/33) by two wickets

Nagaland 55 all out in 39.3 overs (Komalpreet Kour 3/6) lost to Punjab 56/0 in 7.1 overs by ten wickets

Group E, Chennai

Delhi 184 all out in 50 overs (Shweta Sehrawat 57; Chandu V 3/23) lost to Karnataka 186/6 in 47.3 overs (G Divya 40; Lalita Sharma 3/25) by four wickets

Tamil Nadu 196/3 in 50 overs (Arshi Choudhary 70, Niranjana Nagarajan 52*) beat Himachal 102 all out in 34 overs (SM Singh 29; RN Ramyashri 3/12, Niranjana Nagarajan 3/15, SB Keerthana 3/16) by 94 runs

Vidarbha 196 all out in 47.1 overs (Bharati Fulmali 72, Vaishnavi Khandkar 54) beat Meghalaya 50 all out in 19.1 overs (NT Kohale 3/5) by 146 runs

Plate, Bengaluru

Manipur 162/6 in 50 overs (Rebika S 47, Linthoingambi Rajkumari 45) lost to Pondicherry 163/4 in 43.1 overs (Karuna Jain 45*, Yuvashri 41) by six wickets

Sikkim 188/9 in 50 overs (Sarika Koli 112; Bismah Hassan 3/30) lost to J&K 189/4 in 38 overs (Rubiya Syed 102*)

Arunachal Pradesh 83 all out in 42.5 overs (Nabam Yapu 31; Apurva Bharadwaj 2/4) lost to Mizoram 85/3 in 23.4 overs (Julie 34*) by seven wickets