Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 (T20) International women’s squads, for India women’s tour to South Africa. The tour includes three ODIs and five T20s, and the series will be played from 5th to 24th February across seven international venues.


The ODI series will be the part of the ICC Women’s Championship (2017-2020). This will be the first international series of the host team, after the 2017 World Cup which ended in July, last year. The last three matches of the T20 series will be televised, as they will be double-header fixtures alongside the men’s T20 series against India.


Coach Hilton Moreeng is looking forward to some special performances from the squads. “For us, the team selection has been a continuation from the World Cup with a few youngsters included in the squad,” he said. “These youngsters need to start learning and being part of a squad that has been doing well in the last couple of years, it will do them a world of good in their growth. As one of the finalists in the World Cup, we know that the series against India is going to be a tough one. We need to make sure that we capitalize on the home-ground advantage as a team to make sure that we bring the right results to the fore.”


“It’s been a long break for the squad and preparation has been very good building up to this important, first IWC series and we are going to make sure that we keep working hard and that we arrive prepared for it. Come the first game against India, we need to make sure that we hit the ground running.” He addressed to the media.


“From a fitness point of view, everyone in the squad has been given the all-clear. Players are well rested and preparation has been brilliant so far,” he elaborated. “For us, it’s just to make sure that we take it one game at a time and I’m confident we’ll get this IWC off to a good start.” 


“Going into the T20s, for us, it is going to give us good preparation against a very good side. The televised double-headers are the cherry on top to make sure that we keep improving and raising the awareness regarding women’s cricket in the country and making sure that we build towards the ICC Women’s World T20 in West Indies. Every game that we play from now on will be with that in mind.”


The fourteen members squad is filled with lots of young talents. 24-year-old, right-arm medium pacer, Zintle Mali got her maiden call-up in the ODI squad. Moseline Daniels and Odine Kristen have been left out of the 14-member ODI squad but they have been selected in the T20 squad. The fourteen-member squad will be led by Dane van Niekerk, and Chloe Tryon will continue to be her deputy in both the ODI and T20 series.


South Africa Women ODI squad:

Dane van Niekerk (captain), Chloe Tryon (Vice-captain), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Andrie Steyn, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Zintle Mali.


South Africa Women T20 squad:

Dane van Niekerk (captain), Chloe Tryon (Vice-captain), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Odine Kirsten, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Moseline Daniels.


Schedule Of ODI:

South Africa Women vs India Women, 1st ODI (ICC Championship match)
Day: Feb 05, Monday.
Time: 1:30 PM. 08:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM LOCAL
Place: Diamond Oval, Kimberley


South Africa Women vs India Women, 2nd ODI (ICC Championship match)
Day: Feb 07, Wednesday.
Time: 1:30 PM. 08:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM LOCAL
Place: Diamond Oval, Kimberley


South Africa Women vs India Women, 3rd ODI (ICC Championship match)
Day: Feb 10, Saturday.
Time: 1:30 PM. 08:00 AM GMT / 10:00 AM LOCAL
Place: Senwes Park, Potchefstroom


Schedule of T20I:

South Africa Women vs India Women, 1st T20I
Day: Feb 13, Tuesday
Time: 4:30 PM.  11:00 AM GMT / 01:00 PM LOCAL
Place: Senwes Park, Potchefstroom


South Africa Women vs India Women, 2nd T20I
Day: Feb 16, Friday
Time: 4:30 PM.  11:00 AM GMT / 01:00 PM LOCAL
Place: Buffalo Park, East London


South Africa Women vs India Women, 3rd T20I
Day: Feb 18, Sunday
Time: 1:15 PM.  07:45 AM GMT / 09:45 AM LOCAL
Place: The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg


South Africa Women vs India Women, 4th T20I
Day: Feb 21, Wednesday
Time: 4:30 PM. 11:00 AM GMT / 01:00 PM LOCAL
Place: SuperSport Park, Centurion


South Africa Women vs India Women, 5th T20I
Day: Feb 24, Saturday
Time: 4:30 PM.  11:00 AM GMT / 01:00 PM LOCAL
Place: Newlands, Cape Town

Leave a Reply