Roberta Moretti Avery, Vijeylaxmi Narasimhan, Nadia Gruny part of ICC's Future Leaders Programme

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Roberta Moretti Avery, Vijeylaxmi Narasimhan, Nadia Gruny part of ICC's Future Leaders Programme

The International Cricket Council (ICC). © ICC

Brazil’s captain Roberta Moretti Avery, Indian referee and former Tamil Nadu player Vijeylaxmi Narasimhan along with USA Cricket’s Nadia Gruny are among the 40 women from 29 ICC Member countries selected for ICC’s 100% Cricket Future Leaders Programme, it was announced on Tuesday (June 1). This programme is to accelerate the growth of women’s cricket and women in cricket around the world.

Former Pakistan captain Sana Mir, former Australian cricketer and CEO of WACA Christina Matthews and head coach of South Africa Hilton Moreeng are some of the mentors for this programme, for which over 300 people from over 45 countries had applied.

“The response from the global cricket community and all of our Member boards has been fantastic,"Claire Furlong, General Manager, Marketing and Communications of ICC, said. "We received an overwhelming number of applications from 45 countries spanning all five ICC regions."

“The first two batches reflect the diversity of our regions and their areas of focus, and all have received outstanding endorsements from their respective Member Boards. The next six months will be incredibly exciting, and we look forward to a productive learning experience for our mentees.”

ALSO READ: Historic first for Scotland as Kathryn Bryce breaks into top 10 of ICC Rankings

The purpose of this six-month long programme is to address the low percentage of women in leadership positions in global cricket and build a pipeline of new female leaders in cricket. The initial intake is divided into two batches with one beginning this month and the other starting in November.

India's Harini Rana, Zimbabwe captain Mary-Anne Musonda, Pakistan's Marina Iqbal are some of those selected for the second batch.


MentorMenteeCountry / Organization 
Greg Barclay (Governance and Board)Nadia GrunyUSA
Wasim Khan (Management)Joanna TaylorICC
Andrea Nelson (Senior Management / Events)Fizza AbidPakistan
Steve Elworthy (Governance and Board)Tracey PittBermuda
Michelle Enright (Commercial and Business of Cricket)Ewa OstaszewskaIreland
Hilton Moreeng (Coaching)Helmien RambaldoNetherlands
Claire Polosak (Match Officiating)Vijeylaxmi NarasimhanIndia
Sana Mir (Player Growth)Benafsha HashimiAfghanistan
Divya Gokulnath (Commercial and Overall Leadership)Anna ShawEngland
Anthony Everard (Fan Engagement)Vaishali JesraniOman
Sharda Ugra (Media and Journalism)Roberta Moretti AveryBrazil
Ian Bishop (Broadcasting)Xolile MabuzaSouth Africa
Dhiraj Malhotra (Game Development and Events Operations)Caitlin SpencerAustralia
Christina Matthews (Development)Iriho VeroniqueRwanda
Gemma Davies (Digital Communications)La Donna WilliamsWest Indies
Jodie Hawkins (Leadership / Senior Management)Mariamma HyderKuwait
Lisa Keightley (Coaching)Naome Kayondo BagendaUganda
Karren Rogers (Digital Partnerships and Fan Engagement)Nicole DunnN. Zealand
Will Glenwright (Development)Rosy RyanScotland
Chris Tetley (Events and Development)Charilitah WambuiKenya