Rizvi College crowned champions in inaugural Red Bull Campus Cricket trophy

Kalyani Mangale
New Update
Rizvi College crowned champions in inaugural Red Bull Campus Cricket trophy

Red Bull Campus Cricket 2021 Women's Champions - Rizvi College Mumbai © RedBull India

An all-round team display from Mumbai’s Rizvi College helped them beat Gargi College from Delhi by three wickets and lift the inaugural trophy of the Red Bull Campus Cricket women’s competition at Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) stadium in Mohali on Friday (October 22).

Having opted to field first, Rizvi College got an early breakthrough in the very first over as Munni Khan was run-out at the wicket-keeper’s end for the diamond duck, courtesy of a sharp throw from Samiksha in the covers. Aarti Gupta couldn’t last long and she was bowled by Kavita in the very next over. Captain Tanya Vajpayee tried to put up a patient partnership with Umeshwari Jethwa, but the latter was run out trying to sneak a quick single.

For Gargi College, apart from Vajpayee (16), Roopshikha Chaudhary (18) and Anchal Rai made vital contributions with the bat. The right-hander Rai remained unbeaten on 22 to see her side put a competitive total on the board. Nirmal took three wickets, including the wickets of Choudhary and Neha Parmar on back-to-back deliveries. Kavita and Samkisha bowled disciplined spells, and they were rewarded with a wicket each.

In reply, Rizvi Collge got off to a great start after openers Dhanshree and Sadhvi Sanjay hit Sapna Rawat for four boundaries in just the second over of the innings. After that early counterattack, Gargi College’s captain Vajpayee continued with Gupta from the other end. She broke the opening partnership as Sanjay was caught at mid-wicket trying to make the most of a juicy full toss.

After a strong start, Rizvi College wobbled in the middle overs and lost wickets in quick succession. Captain Tanisha Gaikwad held forte at one end while Vaibhavi Raja played the role of the aggressor. The chase got tricky when these two set batters were sent back to the pavilion by Megha in the 10th over. She found her third scalp when she and Rai came together to dismiss Ketaki for 10 runs.

Some late wickets didn’t affect the side from Mumbai much as they defeated Gargi College to win the inaugural trophy of the Red Bull Campus Cricket tournament.

Brief Scores:

Gargi College 81/7 in 20 overs (Roopshikha Chaudhary 18, Tanya Vajpayee 16; Nirmal 3/6) lost to Rizvi College 82/7 in 12.5 overs (Sadhvi Sanjay 14, Vaibhavi Raja 12; Megha 3/15) by three wickets.